Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 26518
email address
 
Or contact:
Stephanie Lopresti
Tel.:514-340-8222 ext. 25784
Dr. Carmen G. Loiselle, N., Ph.D.
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Senior Researcher, Centre for Nursing Research, Jewish General Hospital
Co-Director, Segal Cancer Centre
Director, McGill University Psychosocial Oncology and Cancer Nursing Programs
Associate Professor, Ingram School of Nursing and Department of Oncology, McGill University
McGill Endowed Chair in Psychosocial Oncology/Christine and Herschel Victor/Hope and Cope
 
 
Dr. Carmen Loiselle is Associate Professor at the Ingram School of Nursing and Department of Oncology, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University and holds the Christine and Herschel Victor/Hope and Cope Chair in Psychosocial Oncology, of which she was the inaugural recipient. She is Program Leader for PORT (Psychosocial Oncology Research Training), a CIHR funded transdisciplinary research training program. She was a senior FRQS scientist at the Centre for Nursing Research and the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research at the Jewish General Hospital. She has received major operating grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), FRQS, the Canadian Partnership against Cancer (CPAC), and the Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation. Dr. Loiselle has served as a grant reviewer for CIHR, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), the Canadian Breast Cancer Research Initiative (CBCRI), and FRQS. Her research interests are in the areas of predictors of psychosocial adjustment to cancer and the impact of e-health interventions on health related outcomes and patient reliance on health care services.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Loiselle has documented the impact of e-health interventions on health related outcomes and on health care service use. In a multisite, controlled trial large study among 250 patients newly diagnosed with cancer, access to multimedia cancer information was shown to significantly increase patient satisfaction with information and quality of life among a subset of patients. In another study, an e-health cancer preventive intervention was shown to significantly motivate women at high risk for breast cancer to engage in healthier behaviors. She is currently planning to conduct a randomized controlled trial using a promising e-health intervention called the Oncology Interactive Navigator (OIN) and to study its effects on empowerment and cost-effectiveness among individuals newly diagnosed with colorectal cancer. Dr. Loiselle is also investigating the impact of e-health intervention implementation on health care providers’ workload and work satisfaction.

Recent Publication
 
Chaturvedi, S. K., Stroshchein, F. J., Saraf, G., & Loiselle, C. G. (2014) Communication in cancer care: Psycho social, interactional, cultural, and technological issues. A general overview and the example of India. Frontiers in Psychology, 5.

Loiselle, C.G., Peters, O., Haase, K.R., Girouard, L., Koerner, A., Wiljer, D., & Fitch, M. (2013). Virtual navigation in colorectal cancer and melanoma: An exploration of patients' views. Supportive Care in Cancer, 21(8), 2289-2296.

Macrae, L., De Souza, A.N., Wong, N. & Loiselle, C.G. (2013). Experience of BRCA 1/2 mutation-negative young women from families with hereditary breast and ovarian cancer: A qualitative study. Hereditary Cancer in Clinical Practice, 11(1), 14. 
Snapshot
Dr. Carmen Loiselle is Principal Investigator and Program Leader of a national CIHR-funded Strategic Training Initiative in Health Research (STIHR),  the Psychosocial Oncology Research Training (PORT) program.

Her research program focuses on understanding the role of patients’ motivation and contextual factors as central interacting processes in symptom monitoring, decision-making about illness management, self-regulation, self-care, and health care service utilization.

In 2009, Dr. Loiselle received the Lady Davis Institute Award for Excellence in Medical Research and a mention from the Quebec Ministry of Education for her textbook on research methods.

Her areas of interest are:

E-health interventions in cancer and survivorship care.

Patient information-seeking behaviour and decision making.

Patient - health care provider communication.

Psychosocial oncology and psychosocial adjustment to cancer.

Self-determination theory and multidimensional patient empowerment.

Health care service utilization in cancer.
 
 
Important Links

JGH Centre for Nursing Research

PORT Program
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 26518
carmen.loiselle1@mcgill.ca
 
Ou contacter:
Stephanie Lopresti
Tel.:514-340-8222 poste 25784

Dre Carmen G. Loiselle, inf., Ph. D.
Directrice de projet, Institut Lady Davis
Infirmière chercheuse chevronnée, Centre de recherche en sciences infirmières, Hôpital général juif
Professeure agrégée, École des sciences infirmières et Département d’oncologie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill
Titulaire de la chaire de recherche Christine et Herschel Victor - L’espoir, c’est la vie en oncologie psychosociale, Université McGill
 
La Dre Carmen Loiselle est professeure agrégée à l’École des sciences infirmières de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill et a été la première titulaire de la chaire de recherche Christine et Herschel Victor - L’espoir, c’est la vie en oncologie psychosociale. Elle est directrice du programme PORT (Programme en oncologie psychosociale pour la recherche transdisciplinaire), un programme de formation en recherche transdisciplinaire subventionné par les IRSC. Elle est chercheuse chevronnée du FRSQ, au Centre de recherche en sciences infirmières de l’Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales de l’Hôpital général juif. Elle a obtenu des subventions d’exploitation majeures des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), du FRSQ et du Partenariat canadien contre le cancer (PCCC). La Dre Loiselle a siégé à titre de réviseure des demandes de subvention pour les IRSC, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), l’Initiative canadienne pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein (ICRCS) et le FRSQ. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur le domaine des prédicteurs de l’adaptation psychosociale à un diagnostic de cancer et l’impact des interventions de télésanté sur les résultats en matière de santé et la confiance des patients vis-à-vis les services de santé.


 
Principales activités de recherche
 
La Dre Loiselle a décrit l’impact des interventions de télésanté sur les résultats en matière de santé et sur l’utilisation des services de santé. Dans un essai clinique comparatif multisites à grande échelle, auprès de 250 patients ayant récemment reçu un diagnostic de cancer, il a été démontré que l’accès à des renseignements multimédias sur le cancer augmentait significativement la satisfaction en regard des renseignements obtenus et la qualité de vie d’un sous-groupe de patients. Dans une autre étude, il a été démontré qu’une intervention préventive de télésanté, auprès de personnes atteintes de cancer, motivait significativement les femmes à haut risque de cancer du sein à adopter des comportements plus sains. La Dre Loiselle prévoit mener un essai clinique aléatoire à l’aide d’une intervention virtuelle prometteuse surnommée navigateur interactif en oncologie (NIO) et d’en évaluer les effets sur l’autonomisation de personnes ayant récemment reçu un diagnostic de cancer colorectal et son rapport coût-efficacité. La Dre Loiselle étudie aussi l’impact de la mise en œuvre d’une intervention virtuelle sur la charge de travail des prestataires de soins de santé et leur satisfaction au travail.
 
Publications récentes
 
Chaturvedi, S. K., Stroshchein, F. J., Saraf, G., & Loiselle, C. G. (2014) Communication in cancer care: Psycho social, interactional, cultural, and technological issues. A general overview and the example of India. Frontiers in Psychology, 5.

Loiselle, C.G., Peters, O., Haase, K.R., Girouard, L., Koerner, A., Wiljer, D., & Fitch, M. (2013). Virtual navigation in colorectal cancer and melanoma: An exploration of patients' views. Supportive Care in Cancer, 21(8), 2289-2296.

Macrae, L., De Souza, A.N., Wong, N. & Loiselle, C.G. (2013). Experience of BRCA 1/2 mutation-negative young women from families with hereditary breast and ovarian cancer: A qualitative study. Hereditary Cancer in Clinical Practice, 11(1), 14.
La Dre Carmen Loiselle est chercheuse principale et directrice de projet dans le cadre d’une Initiative stratégique pour la formation en recherche dans le domaine de la santé (ISFRS) financée par les IRSC : le Programme en oncologie psychosociale pour la recherche transdisciplinaire (PORT).

Son programme de recherche porte sur la compréhension du rôle de la motivation des patients et des facteurs contextuels en tant que processus interactifs principaux dans la surveillance des symptômes, la prise de décision relative au traitement de la maladie, l’autorégulation, les autosoins et l’utilisation des services de santé.

En 2009, la Dre Loiselle a remporté le Prix d’excellence en recherche médicale de l’Institut Lady Davis Institute et une mention spéciale du Ministère de l’éducation du Québec pour son livre de référence sur les méthodes de recherche.

Ses domaines d’intérêt sont les suivants :

- Les interventions de télésanté auprès des personnes atteintes de cancer ou ayant survécu au cancer.

- Les comportements de recherche d’information et la prise de décision chez les patients.

- La communication entre les patients et les prestataires de soins de santé.

- L’oncologie psychosociale et l’adaptation psychosociale à un diagnostic de cancer.

- La théorie de l’autodétermination et l’autonomisation multidimensionnelle des patients.

- L’utilisation des services de santé en oncologie.
 
 
Publications de la Dre Loiselle indexées dans PubMed

Centre de recherche en sciences infirmières de l’HGJ

Programme PORT
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital