Tel.: 514-340-8222
email address
Dr. David Small MD, FRCP
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Associate Professor, McGill University
Chief of Division of Pulmonary Diseases, Department of Medicine, Jewish General Hospital
 
 
David Small is a recognized researcher in pulmonary medicine. His research focuses primarily on lung cancer, asthma, sleep disorders, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. His projects include the study of inflammatory markers and developing a prognostic index for lung cancer patients, and the role of exercise training in lung cancer patients as well as quality of life outcomes. Other research interests include the molecular signature of cancer and new targeted therapy for lung cancer patients. He is conducting academic projects to validate new methodology for testing EGFR and ALK mutations. He is also the principal investigator on many NCIC and pharmaceutical industry sponsored trials involving new targeted medicine investigation. To date he has published more than 50 articles in the above mentioned areas.
 
Major Research Activities
 
Dr. Small is leading a number of multi-centre clinical trials studying clinical and quality of life outcomes in patients with lung cancer. He has sought to elucidate the impact of known prognostic factors, such as smoking, age, and gender, as well as new inflammatory and genetic markers of the tumor. His work focuses on developing personalized treatment guidelines based on prognostic factors. Dr. Small is also a member of numerous hospital and McGill committees. He is also a reviewer of CHEST (the cardio-pulmonary and critical care journal). Dr. Small has been an active participant at numerous consultative meetings, advisory boards, and forums organized by pharmaceutical companies, as well as the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the American Thoracic Society (ATS), and others. 
 
Recent Publications

Gagnon, B., Abrahamowicz M., Small D.et al. (2010). "Flexible modeling improves assessment of prognostic value of C-reactive protein in advanced non-small cell lung cancer." British journal of cancer 102(7): 1113-1122.

Cohen, V., Agulnik J. S., Small D. et al. (2010). "Epidermal growth factor receptor mutations detected by denaturing high-performance liquid chromatography in nonsmall cell lung cancer: impact on response to therapy with epidermal growth factor receptor-tyrosine kinase inhibitors." Cancer 116(18): 4309-4317.

Retornaz, F., Monette J., Small D. et al. (2008). "Usefulness of frailty markers in the assessment of the health and functional status of older cancer patients referred for chemotherapy: a pilot study." J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci 63(5): 518-522.

 
Snapshot

Dr. David Small is a recognized researcher in pulmonary medicine.

His main focus is developing personalized treatment guidelines for lung cancer patients based on clinical and genetic prognostic factors.

Dr. Small has clinical and methodological expertise in investigator-initiated trials, randomized clinical trials, and systematic reviews.

 
 
Important Links

Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222
david.small@mcgill.ca
Dr David Small, M.D., FRCP
Professeur agrégé, Université McGill
Chef de la Division des maladies pulmonaires, Département de médecine, Hôpital général juif 
 
David Small est un chercheur reconnu dans le domaine de la médecine pulmonaire. Ses recherches portent principalement sur le cancer du poumon, l’asthme, les troubles du sommeil et la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique. Ses projets comprennent l’étude des marqueurs inflammatoires et la conception d’un index pronostique pour les patients atteints de cancer du poumon, le rôle de l’exercice physique et les résultats en matière de qualité de vie chez les patients atteints de cancer du poumon. Ses autres intérêts de recherche comprennent la signature moléculaire du cancer et les nouvelles thérapies ciblées pour les patients atteints de cancer du poumon. Il effectue des projets de recherche universitaires visant à prouver l’efficacité de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse des mutations EGFR et ALK. Il est aussi chercheur principal dans plusieurs essais cliniques financés par l’INCC et l’industrie pharmaceutique et visant à évaluer de nouvelles thérapies ciblées en médecine. Jusqu’à ce jour, il a publié plus de 50 articles de recherche dans les domaines mentionnés ci-dessus.
 
Principales activités de recherche

Le Dr Small dirige un grand nombre d’essais cliniques multicentriques visant à évaluer les résultats cliniques et en matière de qualité de vie obtenus chez des patients atteints de cancer du poumon. Il cherche à évaluer les conséquences relatives à des facteurs pronostiques bien connus, tels que le tabagisme, l’âge et le sexe, de même que de nouveaux marqueurs inflammatoires et génétiques de la tumeur. Ses travaux ont principalement pour but d’élaborer des lignes directrices en matière de traitement personnalisé en fonction des facteurs pronostiques. Le Dr Small est aussi membre de nombreux comités hospitaliers et de l’Université McGill. Il est lecteur critique pour la revue CHEST (la revue spécialisée en médecine cardiorespiratoire et en soins critiques). Le Dr Small est un participant actif au sein de plusieurs réunions consultatives, comités consultatifs et tribunes organisées par les compagnies pharmaceutiques, ainsi que par l’American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), l’American Thoracic Society (ATS) et plusieurs autres.  
 
Publications récentes
 

Gagnon, B., Abrahamowicz M., Small D.et al. (2010). "Flexible modeling improves assessment of prognostic value of C-reactive protein in advanced non-small cell lung cancer." British journal of cancer 102(7): 1113-1122.

Cohen, V., Agulnik J. S., Small D. et al. (2010). "Epidermal growth factor receptor mutations detected by denaturing high-performance liquid chromatography in nonsmall cell lung cancer: impact on response to therapy with epidermal growth factor receptor-tyrosine kinase inhibitors." Cancer 116(18): 4309-4317.

Retornaz, F., Monette J., Small D. et al. (2008). "Usefulness of frailty markers in the assessment of the health and functional status of older cancer patients referred for chemotherapy: a pilot study." J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci 63(5): 518-522.

 
 

Le Dr David Small est un chercheur reconnu en médecine pulmonaire.

Il cherche principalement à élaborer des lignes directrices en matière de traitement personnalisé pour les patients atteints de cancer du poumon, en tenant compte des facteurs pronostiques cliniques et génétiques.

Le Dr Small possède une expertise clinique et méthodologique dans la poursuite d’essais cliniques entrepris par des chercheurs, les essais cliniques aléatoires et les revues systématiques.

 
 

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital