Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 5129
email address 
Or contact:
Shelley Solomon
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 5129
Dr. Howard Chertkow
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Director, Bloomfield Centre for Research in Aging, Lady Davis Institute

Dr. Howard Chertkow is a cognitive neurologist and co-founder and Director of the Jewish General Hospital / McGill Memory Clinic, the largest such clinic in Canada. He has been continuously funded by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) and its forerunner, the MRC, for the past 20 years. He currently holds CIHR grants to explore the natural history of mild cognitive impairment and the neural substrate of semantic memory. Dr. Chertkow’s salary support has included a prestigious
Chercheur national award from the FRSQ.

Dr. Chertkow is past President of the Canadian Consortium of Centres for Clinical Cognitive Research (C5R). He was coordinator of the cognition axis of the FRSQ Network on Aging. He currently sits on the Research Advisory Board of the Alzheimer Society of Canada, and was a key member of a Quebec committee mandated in 2008 to draw up a provincial strategy for dementia management. He is the only non-American sitting on the NIH committee which funds Alzheimer’s Disease Research Centres across the United States. Dr. Chertkow is the Scientific Organizer of the 2011 world meeting of Alzheimer’s Disease International.

In 2006, he chaired the Third Canadian Consensus Conference on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia, which brought together many of the country’s experts to formulate new guidelines for physicians. Results have been published nationally and internationally and will form the basis of physician training and government policy in Canada regarding dementia in the coming years.  These results are being disseminated with the support of knowledge transfer grants from the CIHR to Dr. Chertkow.

In 2008 Dr. Chertkow received the national Irma Parhad Award from C5R for contributions to excellence in Alzheimer’s Disease research. 

Major Research Activities

Dr. Chertkow’s major areas of research include: 1) early diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease and prediction of deterioration in individuals with mild cognitive impairment; 2) the structure, organization, and function of the semantic memory component of long term memory and its deterioration in dementia; 3) localization of language and memory functions in the brain using functional imaging; and 4) development of knowledge transfer tools to allow physicians to better diagnose cognitive decline.

He was  among the first researchers to recognize and describe the loss of long term semantic memory that occurs in Alzheimer’s Disease, along with describing abnormalities of increased semantic priming in that condition. His laboratory has carried out ground-breaking work in mild cognitive impairment and was the first to describe imaging changes, such as abnormal magnetization transfer ratios.

In 2005, he and his colleagues, Ziad Nasreddine and Natalie Phillips, published the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA), now used around the world to screen for cognitive loss in the elderly.  Thompson Reuters’ Essential Science Indicators noted this to be the most cited paper in mild cognitive impairment, 2006-2009.

Recent Publications

Chertkow, H. (2008). Diagnosis and treatment of dementia: Introduction. Introducing a series based on the Third Canadian Consensus Conference on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia. Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ), 178 (3 316-321.

Chertkow, H., Massoud, F., Nasreddine, Z., Belleville, S., Joanette, Y., Bocti, C., Drolet, V., Kirk, J., & Bergman. (2008). Diagnosis and treatment of dementia: 3. Mild Cognitive Impairment and cognitive impairment, without dementia.
Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ). 178 (10),1273-85.

Chertkow, H., Whitehead, V., Phillips, N., Wolfson, C., Atherton, J., & Bergman, H. (2010). Multilingualism (but not always bilingualism) delays the onset of Alzheimer’s disease - evidence from a bilingual community.
Alzheimer’s Disease & Associated Disorders, 24, 118–125.

Dr. Howard Chertkow, a clinician/scientist, is a cognitive neurologist and director of the JGH/ McGill Memory Clinic, Canada’s largest.

Dr. Chertkow’s laboratory carries out clinical research into Alzheimer’s Disease and mild memory loss, focusing on imaging, early diagnosis, and cognitive neuroscience studies.

Dr. Chertkow’s studies of long term memory and early markers of Mild Cognitive Impairment are internationally recognized.

Dr. Chertkow has played major roles in national Alzheimer’s Disease organizations, consensus conferences, NIH and CIHR granting agencies, and national and international meetings of Alzheimer’s Disease scientists.

Research on Family Caregiving in Palliative and End of Life Care

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

CENTRE MÉDIA    |    IMPRIMER    |     ENGLISH
   

 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 25129
courriel 
 
Ou contacter:
Shelley Solomon
Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 25129
Dr Howard Chertkow
Directeur, Centre Bloomfield de recherche sur le vieillissement, Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales
 
Le Dr Howard Chertkow est neurologue cognitif, cofondateur et directeur de la clinique de mémoire de l’Hôpital général juif et de l’Université McGill, la plus importante clinique du genre au Canada. Au cours des 20 dernières années, il a constamment obtenu du financement des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et son précurseur, le CRM. Il bénéficie actuellement de subventions des IRSC pour étudier l’évolution naturelle de la déficience cognitive légère et les substrats neuronaux associés à la mémoire sémantique. Le soutien salarial du Dr Chertkow a été assuré, entre autre, par le prestigieux prix de chercheur national du FRSQ.
Le Dr Chertkow est l’ancien président du Consortium des centres canadiens pour la recherche cognitive clinique (C5R). Il a été coordonnateur de l’axe de recherche sur la cognition du Réseau de recherche québécois sur le vieillissement du FRSQ. Il siège présentement au comité consultatif de recherche de la Société Alzheimer du Canada et a été l’un des membres clés d’un comité mandaté par le gouvernement québécois, en 2008, pour élaborer une stratégie provinciale pour le traitement de la démence. Il est le seul membre étranger siégeant sur le comité du NIH qui finance les centres de recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer, aux États-Unis. Le Dr Chertkow est l’organisateur scientifique de la conférence mondiale d’Alzheimer’s Disease International.
En 2006, il a présidé la troisième conférence consensuelle canadienne sur le diagnostic et le traitement de la démence qui rassemblait plusieurs experts de partout au pays dans le but de formuler de nouvelles lignes directrices pour les médecins. Les résultats de cette conférence ont été publiés à l’échelle nationale et internationale et serviront de fondements à la formation des médecins et aux politiques gouvernementales canadiennes en matière de démence, au cours des prochaines années. Ces résultats sont diffusés présentement grâce au soutien d’une subvention de transfert des connaissances des IRSC attribuées au Dr Chertkow.
En 2008, le Dr Chertkow a remporté le prix national Irma Parhad, de C5R, pour sa contribution à l’excellence en recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer. 
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les principaux domaines de recherche du Dr Chertkow comprennent : 1) le diagnostic précoce de la maladie d’Alzheimer et la prédiction de la détérioration des personnes atteintes de déficience cognitive légère; 2) la structure, l’organisation et fonctionnement de la mémoire sémantique comme partie intégrante de la mémoire à long terme et sa détérioration dans la démence; 3) la localisation des fonctions du langage et de la mémoire dans le cerveau à l’aide de l’imagerie fonctionnelle et 4) l’élaboration d’outils de transfert des connaissances pour permettre aux médecins d’effectuer un meilleur diagnostic de la détérioration cognitive.
Il a été parmi les premiers chercheurs à reconnaître et décrire la perte de mémoire sémantique à long terme qui survient dans la maladie d’Alzheimer, en plus de décrire les anomalies relatives à l’augmentation de l’amorçage sémantique associé à ce problème de santé. Son laboratoire a effectué des travaux novateurs dans le domaine de la déficience cognitive légère et a été le premier à décrire les changements à l’imagerie tels que les ratios anormaux de transfert d’aimantation.
En 2005, ses collègues Ziad Nasreddine et Natalie Phillips et lui ont publié l’outil d’évaluation cognitive de Montréal (MoCA), maintenant utilisé partout dans le monde pour dépister la perte cognitive chez les personnes âgées. Selon les indicateurs scientifiques essentiels de Thomson Reuters, il s’agissait de l’article le plus cité, dans le domaine de la déficience cognitive légère, de 2006 à 2009.
 
Publications récentes

Chertkow, H. (2008). Diagnosis and treatment of dementia: Introduction. Introducing a series based on the Third Canadian Consensus Conference on the Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia. Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ), 178 (3 316-321.

Chertkow, H., Massoud, F., Nasreddine, Z., Belleville, S., Joanette, Y., Bocti, C., Drolet, V., Kirk, J., & Bergman. (2008). Diagnosis and treatment of dementia: 3. Mild Cognitive Impairment and cognitive impairment, without dementia.
Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ). 178 (10),1273-85.

Chertkow, H., Whitehead, V., Phillips, N., Wolfson, C., Atherton, J., & Bergman, H. (2010). Multilingualism (but not always bilingualism) delays the onset of Alzheimer’s disease - evidence from a bilingual community.
Alzheimer’s Disease & Associated Disorders, 24, 118–125.


Le Dr Howard Chertkow, un chercheur clinicien, est neurologue cognitif et directeur de la clinique de mémoire de l’HGJ et de l’Université McGill, la plus importante du genre au Canada.

Le laboratoire du Dr Chertkow effectue des recherches cliniques sur la maladie d’Alzheimer et les pertes de mémoire légères. Il s’intéresse particulièrement à l’imagerie, au diagnostic précoce et aux études dans le domaine des neurosciences cognitives. 
Les études du Dr Chertkow sur la mémoire à long terme et les marqueurs précoces de déficiences cognitives légères sont reconnues à l’échelle internationale.
Le Dr Chertkow a joué un très grand rôle au sein d’organismes nationaux sur la maladie d’Alzheimer, dans le cadre de conférences consensuelles, au sein d’agences de subventions comme le NIH et l’IRSC, et lors de conférences nationales et internationales de chercheurs sur la maladie d’Alzheimer.

 
 
Publications du Dr Chertkow indexées dans PubMed

Recherche sur les aidants familiaux en soins palliatifs et en soins de fin de vie
 

© 2010 Institut Lady Davis/Hôpital général juif. Tous droits réservés.
Réalisé par Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Plan du site | Avertissement