MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
 
Tel.:514-340-7563
Ian Shrier MD, PhD
Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Medicine, Jewish General Hospital

Dr. Ian Shrier has been a practicing sport medicine physician for over 20 years. He has doctoral training in physiology and post-doctoral training in epidemiology. He is a past President of the Canadian Academy of Sport Medicine. He has over 150 peer-reviewed publications and twelve book chapters on topics related to the effects of exercise and sport medicine injuries, as well as methodological research papers about injury epidemiology, causal inferences, and meta-analyses. He is currently an editorial board member of four international sport medicine journals (Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine, British Journal of Sports Medicine, Journal for Science in Medicine and Sport, Scandinavian Journal of Medicine, and Science in Sports), and is a member of the Cochrane Collaboration Statistical Methods Group.
 
Major Research Activities

Dr. Shrier has two main areas of research: sport medicine and biostatistics/general epidemiology. In sport medicine research, he was the first author to suggest that stretching prior to exercise does not prevent injury (subsequently supported by a moderate body of research and expert opinions). More recently, he studied injury patterns and risk in Cirque du Soleil artists, return to activity criteria used by sport medicine health professionals when treating children and adolescents, the effects of exercise on the health of those with different diseases, and how best to stabilize the cervical spine in pre-hospital patients with suspected neck injuries.

With respect to biostatistics and general epidemiology, Dr. Shrier has recently published articles in the area of causal inference (understanding confounding, causal inference) and how to analyze recurrent event data (e.g. count data that is often obtained in injury epidemiology studies). In addition, he is currently investigating how clinicians and scientists synthesize and interpret information when presented with systematic reviews / meta-analyses. This work is essential to understanding how to present results to clinicians and policy makers so that the evidence is appropriately understood.
 
Recent Publications

Hamilton G, Meeuwisse WM, Emery CA, Steele RJ, Shrier I. Past Injury as a risk factor: an illustrative example where appearances are deceiving. Am J Epid 2011; 173:941-948.

Shrier I, Hallé M. Psychological predictors of injuries in circus artists: an exploratory study. Br J Sports Med 2011;45:433-436.

Boissy P, Shrier I, Brière S, Mellette J, Fecteau L, Matheson GO, Garza D, Meeuwisse WH, Segal E, Boulay J, Steele RJ. Effectiveness of cervical spine stabilization techniques. Clin J Sport Med 21: 80-88, 2011.

 
Dr. Ian Shrier is an internationally recognized expert in sport medicine epidemiology.

He has published extensively on the effects of stretching with respect to injury prevention and improving performance.

His more recent methodological papers include how to best analyze data from injury studies, synthesize information from many studies, and apply causal inference.

He continues to conduct sport medicine research on the effects of exercise on patients with deep vein thrombosis, and injury in athletes and Cirque du Soleil artists.
 
Dr. Shrier's Publications Indexed on PubMed

Dr. Shrier at the JGH Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

CENTRE MÉDIA    |    IMPRIMER    |     ENGLISH
   

 
 
Tel.:514-340-7563
Ian Shrier, M.D., Ph. D.
 
Centre d’épidémiologie clinique
 
Le Dr Ian Shrier a pratiqué comme spécialiste en médecine sportive durant plus de 20 ans. Il a obtenu un doctorat en physiologie et un postdoctorat en épidémiologie. Il a été président de l’Académie canadienne de médecine du sport et de l’exercice. Il a publié plus de 150 articles de recherche dans des revues à comité de lecture, ainsi que douze chapitres de livres sur des sujets portant sur les effets de l’exercice et les blessures en médecine sportive, ainsi que des articles de recherche méthodologique sur l’épidémiologie des blessures sportives, les inférences causales et les méta-analyses. Il est présentement membre du comité de rédaction de cinq revues internationales de médecine sportive (le Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine, le British Journal of Sports Medicine, le Journal for Science in Medicine and Sport, le Scandinavian Journal of Medicine et Science in Sports), ainsi que du Cochrane Collaboration Statistical Methods Group.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Le Dr Shrier s’intéresse à deux domaines de recherche principaux : 1) la médecine sportive et 2) les biostatistiques et l’épidémiologie générale.
En ce qui concerne la recherche en médecine sportive, il a été le premier auteur à remettre en doute la notion selon laquelle les étirements avant l’exercice pouvaient prévenir les blessures (cette hypothèse a par la suite été confirmée par un nombre raisonnable de recherches et d’opinions d’experts). Plus récemment, il a étudié les types de blessures et les risques encourus par les artistes du Cirque du Soleil, les critères de reprise des activités utilisés par les professionnels de la santé en médecine sportive lorsqu’ils soignent des enfants et des adolescents, les effets de l’exercice sur la santé des personnes atteintes de différentes maladies et la meilleure façon de stabiliser la colonne cervicale chez les patients, en préhospitalier, lorsqu’on suspecte une blessure cervicale. 


 
En ce qui a trait aux biostatistiques et à l’épidémiologie générale, le Dr Shrier a récemment publié des articles dans le domaine de l’inférence causale (comprenDre l’inférence combinée et causale) et la façon d’analyser les données associées à un événement récurrent (ex. : compter les données souvent obtenues à partir d’études épidémiologiques portant sur les blessures sportives). De plus, il étudie présentement la façon dont les cliniciens et les scientifiques effectuent la synthèse et interprètent les informations lorsqu’elles sont présentées dans des revues systématiques et des méta-analyses. Ces travaux sont essentiels afin de mieux comprenDre comment présenter les résultats aux cliniciens et aux décideurs politiques de façon à ce que les données probantes soient bien comprises.
 
Publications récentes
 
Shrier I. Strategic assessment of risk and risk tolerance (StARRT) framework for return to play decision making. Br J Sports Med. 2015 Jun 2. pii: bjsports-2014-094569. doi: 10.1136/bjsports-2014-094569. [Epub ahead of print]

Shrier I, Steele RJ, Zhao M, Naimi A, Verhagen E, Stovitz SD, Rauh JM, Hewett TE. A multi-state framework for the analysis of subsequent injury in sport. Scand J Med Sci Sport 2015 Jun 3. doi: 10.1111/sms.12493. [Epub ahead of print].

Shrier I, Boissy P, Lebel K, Boulay J, Segal E, Delaney JS, Vacon CL, Steele RJ. Cervical spine motion during transfer and stabilization techniques. Prehosp Emerg Care 19: 116-125, 2015

Shrier I, Steele RJ, Verhagen E, Herbert R, Riddell CA, Kaufman JS. Beyond intention-to-treat: what is the right question? Clin Trials 11:28-37, 2014.

Shrier I, Kaufman JS, Platt RW, Steele RJ. Principal stratification: A broader vision. Int J Biostat 9:307-313, 2013
 

 
 

 

© 2010 Institut Lady Davis/Hôpital général juif. Tous droits réservés.
Réalisé par Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Plan du site | Avertissement