Tel.: 514-340-8222 Ext. 23647
 
Or contact:
Astrid Tchakmaktchian
Tel.:514-340-8222 Ext. 24562
email address

Jean-François Boivin, MD, ScD., FRCPC

Senior Investigator, Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies, Lady Davis Institute
Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, McGill University 
 
 
Jean-François Boivin is a physician (Laval, 1973) and a specialist in community medicine (Université de Montréal, 1990). He also holds a doctoral degree in epidemiology (Harvard, 1981). His current research interests include homelessness and health, risk factors and temporal patterns of addiction, and the evaluation of emergency health services.

Dr. Boivin has served on various scientific and policy committees such as the Scientific Council of the Québec Research Institute for Health and Occupational Safety (1997-2001), the Scientific Council of France's
Mutuelle générale de l’éducation nationale (1999-2002), and the Advisory Board of the CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research (2004-2008).
He was a consultant and examiner for the Faculty of Medicine of Kuwait (1998-2002).He is currently a member of the Québec Regional Advisory Committee of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the Fellowships Affairs of the Royal College, and the Board of Directors of the Canadian Center on Substance Abuse.
 
Major Research Activities

1. Research on Drug Side Effects. Risk of developing cancer after being treated with varied classes of drugs. We have documented the protective effect of anti-inflammatory drugs using an extensive database covering 15 years of follow-up. We have also analyzed the risk of breast and prostate cancers associated with use of antidepressants and we determined how hormonal replacement therapy affected the risk of breast cancer in postmenopausal women. We also examined the risk of breast cancer in relation to the use of antibiotics. Finally, we determined the risk of cancer in patients treated for lupus erythematosus.

2. Research on Street Youth. Incidence, prevalence, and risk factors for AIDS and hepatitis among street youth in Montreal. This cohort study conducted by Dr. Élise Roy (University of Sherbrooke) was used to determine the evolution of risk factors in this population and to document the relative risk for other problems such as the incidence of suicide. Our work has also addressed various aspects of drug abuse among young people and other precarious populations.

3. Methodological Research in Epidemiology. Throughout my career, I became interested in the improvement and development of tools for epidemiological research. I have published on case-cohort design, the validity of methods for collecting nutritional data, the interpretation of effect measures in epidemiology, the two-stage sampling, outside comparison in the context of case-control studies, statistical modeling and causal analysis. More recently I worked on methodological studies on the interpretation of meta-analyses.

4. Evaluation of Technologies and Health Services. We have developed a scale to measure the results of laser refractive surgery from the patient perspective. In the field of evaluation of hospital emergency departments, we have characterized the patient populations coming to emergencies and determined the impact of electronic communication tools on the operations in the emergency departments.

 

Recent Publications

De P, Cox J, Boivin JF, Platt RW, Jolly AM, Alexander PE.
HIV and HCV discordant injecting partners and their association to drug equipment sharing. Scandinavian Journal of Infectious Diseases 2009; 41:206-214.

Filion KB, Joseph L, Boivin JF, Suissa S, Brophy JM.
Trends in the prescription of anti-diabetic medications in the United Kingdom: a population-based analysis. Pharmacoepidemiology and Drug Safety 2009; 18: 973-976.

Bernatsky S, Joseph L, Pineau CA, Bélisle P, Boivin JF, Banerjee D, Clarke AE.
Estimating the prevalence of polymyositis and dermatomyositis from administrative data: age, sex and regional differences. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases 2009; 68:1192– 1196.

Snapshot
Dr. Boivin’s main field of research is epidemiology and public health, with a special focus on addiction and the evaluation of emergency health services.
 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 23647
 
Ou contacter: 
Tel.:514-340-8222 poste 24562

Jean-François Boivin, M.D., D. Sc., FRCPC

 
Chercheur chevronné, Centre d’épidémiologie clinique et de recherche en santé publique, Hôpital général juif
Professeur, épidémiologie et biostatistiques, Université McGill
 

Jean-François Boivin est un médecin (Laval, 1973) et spécialiste en médecine communautaire (Université de Montréal, 1990). Il détient aussi un doctorat en épidémiologie (Harvard, 1981). Ses intérêts de recherche actuels comprennent l’itinérance et la santé, les facteurs de risque et les régimes temporels associés à la toxicomanie, de même que l’évaluation des services d’urgence hospitaliers.

Le Dr Boivin a siégé sur différents comités scientifiques et d’orientation tels que le conseil scientifique de l’Institut de recherche en santé et sécurité au travail du Québec (1997-2001), le conseil scientifique de la Mutuelle générale de l’Éducation nationale (1999-2002) de la France et le comité consultatif de l’Institut des services et des politiques de santé des IRSC (2004-2008).

Il a été consultant et examinateur pour la Faculté de médecine du Koweit (1998-2002). Il est présentement membre du comité consultatif régional du Québec du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, du Comité des affaires des Associés du Collège Royal et du conseil d’administration du Centre canadien de lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les toxicomanies.

 

Principales activités de recherche

 

1. Recherche sur les effets secondaires des médicaments. Risque de cancer après un traitement avec différentes classes de médicaments. Nous avons documenté l'effet protecteur des anti-inflammatoires en exploitant une vaste base de données couvrant 15 ans de suivi. Nous avons aussi analysé le risque de cancer du sein et de la prostate après la consommation d'antidépresseurs, et nous avons déterminé l’effet des hormones de remplacement sur le risque de cancer du sein chez les femmes ménopausées. Nous avons aussi examiné le risque de cancer du sein en relation avec l’utilisation d’antibiotiques. Finalement nous avons déterminé le risque de cancer chez les patients traités pour un lupus érythémateux.

2. Recherche sur les jeunes de la rue. Incidence, prévalence et facteurs de risque du sida et des hépatites chez les jeunes de la rue de Montréal. Cette étude de cohortes, menée par la Dre Élise Roy (Université de Sherbrooke), a permis de déterminer l'évolution des facteurs de risque dans cette population et de documenter le risque relatif à d'autres problèmes comme l'incidence du suicide. Nos travaux ont aussi abordé divers aspects de la toxicomanie chez ces jeunes et dans d’autres populations précaires.

3. Recherche méthodologique en épidémiologie. Tout au long de ma carrière, je me suis intéressé à l'amélioration et au développement des outils de recherche en épidémiologie. J'ai publié sur le devis cas-cohorte, sur la validité de méthodes de collecte de données nutritionnelles, sur l'interprétation des mesures d'effet en épidémiologie, l’échantillonnage à deux degrés, les comparaisons externes dans le caDre d'études cas-témoins, la modélisation statistique et l’analyse causale. Plus récemment, j’ai collaboré à des travaux méthodologiques sur l’interprétation des méta-analyses.

4. Évaluation des technologies et des services de santé. Nous avons développé une échelle permettant de mesurer les résultats de la chirurgie réfractive au laser du point de vue du patient. Dans le domaine de l’évaluation des services d’urgence hospitaliers, nous avons caractérisé les clientèles fréquentant les urgences et déterminé l’impact de systèmes de communication électroniques sur le fonctionnement de l’urgence.

 
Publications récentes
 
De P, Cox J, Boivin JF, Platt RW, Jolly AM, Alexander PE. HIV and HCV discordant injecting partners and their association to drug equipment sharing. Scandinavian Journal of Infectious Diseases 2009; 41:206-214.

Filion KB, Joseph L, Boivin JF, Suissa S, Brophy JM.
Trends in the prescription of anti-diabetic medications in the United Kingdom: a population-based analysis. Pharmacoepidemiology and Drug Safety 2009; 18: 973-976.

Bernatsky S, Joseph L, Pineau CA, Bélisle P, Boivin JF, Banerjee D, Clarke AE.
Estimating the prevalence of polymyositis and dermatomyositis from administrative data: age, sex and regional differences. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases 2009; 68:1192– 1196.
Le Dr Boivin mène principalement des recherches dans le domaine de l’épidémiologie et de la santé publique, particulièrement en lien avec la dépendance aux drogues et à l’alcool et l’évaluation des services d’urgence hospitaliers. .
 
 
Publications du Dr Boivin indexées dans PubMed
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital