Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 22948
email address
 
Assistant
Laura Epure
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 22948
Dr. John Antoniou, MD, PhD, FRCSC
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Orthopaedic Surgeon, Jewish General Hospital, Montreal
Research Director, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, Department of Surgery, McGill University
Associate Professor (tenured), Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, Department of Surgery, McGill University 
 
 
Dr. John Antoniou is an orthopaedic surgeon at the Jewish General Hospital trained in the evaluation and management of the entire gamut of shoulder, elbow and adult reconstruction (hip and knee) problems. Dr. Antoniou graduated from medicine at McGill University in 1991 and did his residency in orthopaedic surgery from 1991 to 1997 at McGill University. In 1998, Dr. Antoniou completed a fellowship in adult reconstruction with an emphasis on revision surgery at Central Dupage Hospital and the Rush-Presbyterian-St. Lukes Medical Center in Chicago. In 1999, he also completed a fellowship in shoulder and elbow surgery at the University of Washington and University of Pennsylvania. More recently, he has become involved in patient self-assessment of disease and outcome analysis using a wide range of computer aided methodologies. During his clinical training, Dr. Antoniou completed a PhD in Experimental Surgery at McGill University, with an emphasis on research in the biochemistry and molecular biology of the musculoskeletal system. 
 
Major Research Activities 
 
Dr. Antoniou’s research is centered on the basic science and clinical areas of medicine, such as quantitative MRI as a diagnostic tool of disc degeneration, tissue engineering of the intervertebral disc, and total hip arthroplasty.

Dr. Antoniou sought to develop an objective, accurate, non-invasive diagnostic tool (quantitative MRI) for the detection and quantification of early intervertebral disc degeneration. His studies on quantitative MRI showed that discs matrix content, integrity, and biomechanical changes related to aging can be detected through certain MRI parameters. Further development of such a diagnostic tool could be used to assess and follow the treatment modalities of disc pathology that are presently being developed. Directly related to the work on diagnostic tools for disc degeneration, Dr. Antoniou’s second research interest is on the regeneration of a functional nucleus pulposus in the degenerated intervertebral disc using autologus mesenchymal stem cells, growth factors, and nitrogen rich surfaces. The long-range goal of this research is to develop a viable biological repair strategy for aging discs. Recently, he discovered that the amino-terminal peptide of link protein (Link N) is a potential growth factor able to stimulate the products of a nucleus pulposus-like phenotype.

Dr. Antoniou’s clinical studies involve examining adult reconstruction and the most effective therapy to treat pain and disability in patients and to improve their quality-of-life. This research is directly related to his effort to provide the best alternative treatment to patients suffering from osteoarthritis. He developed different research studies trying to understand the clinical relevance of raised and safe metal ion levels in patients with metal-on-metal hip arthroplasty, the effect of metal ions on the sperm parameters of male patients in their prime parenting years, and the influence of surgical variables on metal ion levels. 
 
Recent Publications 
 
Mwale F, Masuda K, Pichika R, Epure LM, Yoshikawa T, Hemmad A, Roughley PJ, Antoniou J. “The efficacy of Link N as a mediator of repair in a rabbit model of intervertebral disc degeneration.” Arthritis Res Ther. 2011 Jul 25;13(4):R120.

Bernstein M, Walsh A, Petit A, Zukor DJ, Antoniou J. “Femoral head size does not affect ion values in metal-on-metal total hips.” Clin Orthop Relat Res. 2011 Jun;469(6):1642-50.

Mwale F, Iatridis JC, Antoniou J. “Quantitative MRI as a diagnostic tool of intervertebral disc matrix composition and integrity.” Eur Spine J. 2008 Dec;17 Suppl 4:432-40. 
Snapshot

Dr. John Antoniou is an orthopaedic surgeon at the Jewish General Hospital and Associate Professor at McGill University.
He conducts basic and clinical reseach on quantitative MRI as a diagnostic tool of disc degeneration, tissue engineering of the intervertebral disc, and total hip arthroplasty.

 
 
Important Links
McGill University

Jewish General Hospital
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 22948
janton@orl.mcgill.ca
 
Adjointe administrative
Laura Epure
Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 22948
lepure@jgh.mcgill.ca

 
Dr John Antoniou, M.D., Ph. D., FRCSC
Chirurgien orthopédiste, Hôpital général juif, Montréal
Directeur de recherche, Division de chirurgie orthopédique, Département de chirurgie, Université McGill
Professeur agrégé (permanent), Division de chirurgie orthopédique, Département de chirurgie, Université McGill
 
Le Dr John Antoniou est un chirurgien orthopédiste travaillant à l’Hôpital général juif et formé dans l’évaluation et la gestion de toute la gamme des problèmes relatifs à la reconstruction de l’épaule, du coude, de la hanche et du genou chez l’adulte. Le Dr Antoniou a obtenu son diplôme en médecine à l’Université McGill, en 1991, et a effectué sa résidence en chirurgie orthopédique, de 1991 à 1997, à l’Université McGill. En 1998, le Dr Antoniou a suivi une spécialisation en chirurgie reconstructive chez l’adulte, particulièrement en matière de reprises chirurgicales, à l’Hôpital Central Dupage et au Centre médical universitaire Rush-Presbyterian de St. Lukes à Chicago. En 1999, il a aussi terminé une spécialisation en chirurgie de l’épaule et du coude à l’Université de Washington et à l’Université de la Pennsylvanie. Plus récemment, il a commencé à s’intéresser à l’auto-évaluation de la maladie par les patients et à l’analyse des résultats à l’aide d’un large éventail de méthodes assistées par ordinateur. Au cours de sa formation clinique, le Dr Antoniou a obtenu un doctorat en chirurgie expérimentale à l’Université McGill, particulièrement en recherche dans le domaine de la biochimie et de la biologie moléculaire de l’appareil locomoteur. 
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les recherches du Dr Antoniou sont axées sur les sciences fondamentales et les domaines cliniques de la médecine tels que l’IRM quantitative en tant qu’outil de diagnostic de la dégénérescence discale, l’ingénierie tissulaire des disques intervertébraux et l’arthroplastie totale de la hanche.

Le Dr Antoniou a cherché à développer un outil diagnostique (l’IRM quantitative) objectif, précis, non effractif pour le dépistage et l’évaluation quantitative de la dégénérescence précoce des disques intervertébraux. Ses études sur l’IRM quantitative ont démontré que le contenu, l’intégrité et les changements biomécaniques relatifs au vieillissement, dans la matrice des disques intervertébraux, peuvent être détectés par certains paramétrages de l’IRM. Poursuive les développements en rapport avec un tel outil diagnostique pourrait permettre d’évaluer et d’assurer le suivi des modalités de traitement des pathologies des disques intervertébraux présentement en cours de développement. Directement en lien avec ses travaux sur les outils diagnostiques pour la dégénérescence discale, le deuxième intérêt de recherche du Dr Antonio porte sur la régénération d’un noyau pulpeux fonctionnel dans un disque intervertébral dégénéré à l’aide de cellules souches autologues mésenchymateuses, de facteurs de croissance et de substances riches en azote. L’objectif à long terme de ses recherches consiste à élaborer une stratégie de réparation biologique viable pour les disques vieillissants. Récemment, il a découvert que le peptide N-terminal de la protéine de liaison (liaison N) constituait un facteur de croissance potentiel capable de stimuler la croissance des produits d’un phénotype de noyau pulpeux.

Les études cliniques du Dr Antoniou consistent à examiner la chirurgie reconstructive chez l’adulte et le traitement le plus efficace pour soulager la douleur et l’incapacité chez les patients et améliorer leur qualité de vie. Ces recherches sont directement associées à ses efforts visant à offrir le meilleur traitement alternatif aux patients souffrant d’ostéoarthrite. Il a conçu différentes études de recherche visant à mieux comprendre la pertinence clinique de l’élévation des taux d’ions métalliques et les taux sécuritaires chez les patients porteurs d’une prothèse de la hanche métal sur métal, l’effet des ions métalliques sur les paramètres du sperme de patients, au cours de leurs premières années parentales, et l’influence des variables chirurgicales sur les taux d’ions métalliques. 
 
Publications récentes
 
Mwale F, Masuda K, Pichika R, Epure LM, Yoshikawa T, Hemmad A, Roughley PJ, Antoniou J. “The efficacy of Link N as a mediator of repair in a rabbit model of intervertebral disc degeneration.” Arthritis Res Ther. 2011 Jul 25;13(4):R120.

Bernstein M, Walsh A, Petit A, Zukor DJ, Antoniou J. “Femoral head size does not affect ion values in metal-on-metal total hips.” Clin Orthop Relat Res. 2011 Jun;469(6):1642-50.

Mwale F, Iatridis JC, Antoniou J. “Quantitative MRI as a diagnostic tool of intervertebral disc matrix composition and integrity.” Eur Spine J. 2008 Dec;17 Suppl 4:432-40. 
 

Le Dr John Antoniou est chirurgien orthopédiste à l’Hôpital général juif et professeur agrégé à l’Université McGill.
Il poursuit des recherches fondamentales et cliniques sur l’IRM quantitative en tant qu’outil diagnostique de la dégénérescence discale, l’ingénierie tissulaire des disques intervertébraux et l’arthroplastie totale de la hanche.

 
 
Publications du Dr John Antoniou indexées dans PubMed

Université McGill

Hôpital général juif
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital