MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 22760
Dr. Koren K. Mann 
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Associate Professor of Oncology, McGill University
 
 
Dr. Koren Mann is the head of the Molecular and Regenerative Medicine Axis, an Associate Professor of Oncology at McGill University, and a Senior Investigator at the Lady Davis Institute at the Jewish General Hospital. She is a member of the Segal Cancer Centre and an associate member of the Goodman Cancer Centre. She is also on the scientific committee for the Banque de cellules leucémiques du Québec and a member of the Society of Toxicology - Metals Specialty Section.

Dr. Mann received her Ph.D. in pathology and immunology in 1999 from Boston University, where she studied how the developing immune system is affected by exposure to polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons. She moved to Montreal to complete her post-doctoral training at McGill, where she researched the use of arsenic as a potential chemotherapy in cancer treatment. Currently, Dr. Mann’s laboratory investigates the environmental health effects of metals, including arsenic and tungsten. In recent years, she has participated in the Lymphoma Translational Research Group and has projects associated with understanding drug resistance in diffuse large B cell lymphoma.
 
Major Research Activities 
 
Dr. Mann’s laboratory investigates the mechanisms by which arsenic acts as a pro-atherogen and enhances the formation of atherosclerotic lesions. Using a combination of mouse models and in vitro cell cultures, she has shown that arsenic causes macrophages to accumulate fat by inhibiting the molecular cues of lipid efflux. Currently, she is focusing on the role of arsenic methylation in the pro-atherosclerotic effects of arsenic.

Dr. Mann’s laboratory is also studying the potential toxicities associated with tungsten exposure including effects of developing B lymphocytes, bone, and breast cancer metastases. Exposure to tungsten has been proposed as a possible cause for several leukemia clusters.

As part of the Lymphoma Translational Research Group, Dr. Mann participates in correlative studies in diffuse large B cell lymphoma clinical trials. She has an interest in the molecular changes in tumors from patients that relapse or are refractory to standard chemotherapy.
 
Recent Publications

Lemaire M, Negro Silva LF, Lemarié CA, Bolt AM, Flores Molina M, Krohn RM, Smits JE, Lehoux S, Mann KK. Arsenic Exposure Increases Monocyte Adhesion to the Vascular Endothelium, a Pro-Atherogenic Mechanism.PLoS One. 2015 Sep 2; 10(9):e0136592. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0136592. eCollection 2015.

Bolt AM, Grant MP, Wu TH, Flores Molina M, Plourde D, Kelly AD, Negro Silva LF, Lemaire M, Schlezinger JJ, Mwale F, Mann KK. Tungsten Promotes Sex-Specific Adipogenesis in the Bone by Altering Differentiation of Bone Marrow-Resident Mesenchymal Stromal Cells.Toxicol Sci. 2016 Apr;150(2):333-46. doi: 10.1093/toxsci/kfw008. Epub 2016 Feb 9.

Assouline SE, Nielsen TH, Yu S, Alcaide M, Chong L, MacDonald D, Tosikyan A, Kukreti V, Kezouh A, Petrogiannis-Haliotis T, Albuquerque M, Fornika D, Alamouti S, Froment R, Greenwood CM, Oros KK, Camglioglu E, Sharma A, Christodoulopoulos R, Rousseau C, Johnson N, Crump M, Morin RD, Mann KK. Phase 2 study of panobinostat +/- rituximab in relapsed diffuse large B cell lymphoma and biomarkers predictive of response..Blood. 2016 May 10. pii: blood-2016-02-699520. [Epub ahead of print]
 
Dr. Koren Mann studies the human health effects of exposure to metal.

One project focuses on defining mechanisms by which arsenic enhances atherosclerosis.

A second project aims to define the potential role for tungsten in the development of pediatric leukemia.
 

 

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste: 22760
Dre Koren K. Mann
 
Chercheur chevronné, Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales
Professeure adjointe en oncologie, Université McGill

La Dre Koren Mann travaille présentement comme Directeur de l’axe de recherche en médecine moléculaire et régénérative, professeure adjointe en oncologie à l’Université McGill, et comme chercheur chevronné à l’Institut Lady Davis de l’Hôpital général juif. Elle est membre du Centre du cancer Segal et membre associée du Centre du cancer Goodman. Elle siège aussi sur le comité scientifique pour la Banque de cellules leucémiques du Québec et est membre de la section spéciale sur les métaux de la Society of Toxicology.

La Dre Mann a obtenu son doctorat en pathologie et en immunologie en 1999, à l’Université de Boston, où elle a étudié la façon dont le système immunitaire en développement est affecté par l’exposition aux hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques. Elle est déménagée à Montréal pour terminer sa formation postdoctorale à l’Université McGill où elle a entrepris des recherches sur l’utilisation de l’arsenic comme chimiothérapie dans le traitement du cancer. Actuellement, le laboratoire de la Dre Mann étudie les effets sur la santé environnementale des métaux, y compris l’arsenic et le tungstène.
 
Principales activités de recherche

Le laboratoire de la Dre Mann étudie les mécanismes par lesquels l’arsenic agit comme un proathérogène et accélère la formation de lésions athérosclérotiques. La Dre Mann a été la première à établir le lien entre l’exposition à l’arsenic et l’inhibition des récepteurs nucléiques, particulièrement ceux qui s’hétérodimérisent avec le récepteur rétinoïde X (RXR). Par la suite, elle a démontré que l’arsenic inhibait l’activité transcriptionnelle du récepteur X du foie (LXR) et du RXR ce qui menait à l’accumulation de cholestérol dans les macrophages. De plus, l’arsenic modifie la biologie des monocytes et des macrophages de façon à en accroître l’adhérence et la migration.
Le laboratoire de la Dre Mann étudie aussi comment le tungstène peut affecter le développement des lymphocytes B. L’exposition au tungstène a été suggérée comme une cause possible de l’émergence de grappes de leucémie. Le laboratoire de la Dre Mann cherche à caractériser la croissance et la mort des précurseurs des lymphocytes B suite à une exposition au tungstène. Elle s’intéresse aux modifications génétiques moléculaires qui pourraient entraîner un accroissement de la leucémogénèse à l’intérieur de ce compartiment cellulaire.
 
Publications récentes
 
Nielsen TH, Johnson N, Garnier N, Kwan S, Yao L, Cocolakis E, Hébert J, Morgan RA, Paquet E, Callahan KP, Jordan CT, Assouline S, Miller WH Jr, Mann KK. Monitoring Response and Resistance to the Novel Arsenical Darinaparsin in an AML Patient. Front Pharmacol. 2013 Feb 12;4:9. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2013.00009.

Kelly AD, Lemaire M, Young YK, Eustache JH, Guilbert C, Molina MF, Mann KK. In vivo tungsten exposure alters B-cell development and increases DNA damage in murine bone marrow. Toxicol Sci. 2013 Feb;131(2):434-46. doi: 10.1093/toxsci/kfs324. Epub 2012 Nov 14.

Lemaire M, Lemarié CA, Molina MF, Schiffrin EL, Lehoux S, Mann KK. Exposure to moderate arsenic concentrations increases atherosclerosis in ApoE-/- mouse model. Toxicol Sci. 2011 Jul;122(1):211-21. doi: 10.1093/toxsci/kfr097. Epub 2011 Apr 21.

La Dre Koren Mann étudie les effets sur la santé humaine de l’exposition à certains métaux.

L’un de ses projets cherche à décrire les mécanismes par lesquels l’arsenic augmente l’athérosclérose.

Un deuxième projet vise à définir le rôle potentiel joué par le tungstène dans l’apparition de la leucémie pédiatrique.

 
 
Publications de la Dre Mann indexées dans PubMed

 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital