MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 23475
email address
 
Or contact:
Maura Buchignani
514-340-3468
 
Dr. Marie Hudson
 
Associate Director for Clinical Research, Lady Davis Institute
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, McGill University
 
 
Dr. Marie Hudson is a rheumatologist, epidemiologist, and Assistant Professor in the Department of Medicine at McGill University. She is a physician-scientist and member of the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies at the Jewish General Hospital. She is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada and is funded as a New Investigator by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

Major Research Activities
Dr Hudson pursues research in systemic autoimmune rheumatic diseases. In particular, she is one of the founding members of the Canadian Scleroderma Research Group (CSRG), a CIHR-funded, multi-centre group of researchers that follows a cohort of over 1000 SSc patients across Canada. She has published landmark studies documenting the magnitude of impairment in health-related quality of life (HRQoL) with scleroderma. She is particularly interested in scleroderma lung disease, its natural history, its optimal treatment, and its impact on HRQoL. Dr Hudson is also involved in a number of studies in other rheumatic diseases, including rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, and inflammatory myositis. In particular, she is a co-investigator on a large Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) funded study to develop a new integrated database and biospecimen tracking system for systemic autoimmune rheumatic diseases in order to support future cross-disease studies.

She is the recipient of the 2011 Canadian Rheumatology Association Young Investigator Award.

Recent Publications
Hudson M, Baron M, Lo E, Weinfeld J, Furst D, Khanna D. An international, web-based, prospective cohort study to determine if the use of ACE inhibitors prior to the onset of scleroderma renal crisis is associated with worse outcome - methodology and preliminary results. International J Rheumatol 2010; doi:10.1155/2010/347402.

Hudson M, Fritzler MJ, Baron M. Systemic sclerosis: Establishing diagnostic criteria. Medicine (Baltimore) 2010; 89(3): 159-65.

Hudson M, Thombs BD, Steele R, Panopalis P, Newton E, Baron M, Canadian Scleroderma Research Group. Health-related quality of life in Systemic Sclerosis: A systematic review. Arthritis Rheum 2009; 61(8): 1112-20.
Snapshot

Dr. Marie Hudson is a rheumatologist and epidemiologist.

She works as a clinician, researcher, and teacher.

Her research is in the field of systemic autoimmune rheumatic diseases.

Currently, her main focus is on determining outcomes of patients with scleroderma lung disease.

 
 
Important Links

Canadian Scleroderma Research Group
 

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 23475
Courriel
 
Ou:
Maura Buchignani
514-340-3468
 
Dre Marie Hudson
Médecin-chercheur, Institut Lady Davis, Hôpital général juif 

Professeure adjointe, Département de médecine, Université McGill
 
La Dre Marie Hudson est rhumatologue, épidémiologiste et professeure adjointe au Département de médecine de l’Université McGill. Elle est médecin-chercheur et membre du Centre d’épidémiologie clinique et de recherche en santé publique de l’Hôpital général juif. Elle est associée du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et est subventionnée à titre de nouvelle chercheuse par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). 
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
La Dre Hudson poursuit des recherches sur les maladies rhumatismales auto-immunes systémiques. Plus spécifiquement, elle est l’un des membres fondateurs du Groupe de recherche  canadien sur la sclérodermie (GRCS), un groupe multicentrique de chercheuses et chercheurs, subventionné par les IRSC, qui suit une cohorte de plus de 1000 patients atteints de sclérodermie de partout au Canada. Elle a publié des études marquantes décrivant l’étendue de la dégradation de la qualité de vie en matière de santé des personnes atteintes de sclérodermie. Elle est particulièrement intéressée par la maladie pulmonaire associée à la sclérodermie : son évolution naturelle, son traitement optimal et ses conséquences sur la qualité de vie en matière de santé. La Dre Hudson participe aussi à un grand nombre d’études portant sur d’autres maladies rhumatismales, y compris l’arthrite rhumatoïde, le lupus érythémateux disséminé et la myosite inflammatoire. Plus particulièrement, elle est cochercheuse dans le caDre d’une importante étude financée par la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI) et ayant pour but de mettre sur pied une nouvelle base de données intégrée, ainsi qu’un système de suivi des échantillons biologiques relatifs aux maladies rhumatismales auto-immunes systémiques qui serviront à soutenir de futures études croisées sur ces maladies.


En 2011, elle a reçu le prix de jeune chercheuse de la Société canadienne de rhumatologie.
 
Publications récentes
 
Hudson M, Baron M, Lo E, Weinfeld J, Furst D, Khanna D. An international, web-based, prospective cohort study to determine if the use of ACE inhibitors prior to the onset of scleroderma renal crisis is associated with worse outcome - methodology and preliminary results. International J Rheumatol 2010; doi:10.1155/2010/347402.

Hudson M, Fritzler MJ, Baron M. Systemic sclerosis: Establishing diagnostic criteria. Medicine (Baltimore) 2010; 89(3): 159-65.

Hudson M, Thombs BD, Steele R, Panopalis P, Newton E, Baron M, Canadian Scleroderma Research Group. Health-related quality of life in Systemic Sclerosis: A systematic review. Arthritis Rheum 2009; 61(8): 1112-20.

La Dre Marie Hudson est rhumatologue et épidémiologiste.

Elle travaille à titre de clinicienne, chercheuse et enseignante.

Ses recherches portent sur le domaine des maladies rhumatismales auto-immune systémiques.

Actuellement, elle s’attarde particulièrement à décrire les résultats chez les patients atteints de la maladie pulmonaire associée à la sclérodermie.

 
 
Publications de la Dre Hudson indexées dans PubMed

Groupe de recherche canadien sur la sclérodermie
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital