Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 23363
email address

 
Dr. Michael Witcher
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Oncology, McGill University


Dr. Witcher's Publications Indexed on PubMed
 
Dr. Michael Witcher is an associate professor of Medicine, at McGill University, affiliated with the Department of Oncology, a Senior Investigator at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research and a member of the Jewish General Hospital/Segal Cancer Center. He received a BSc and MSc from Memorial University of Newfoundland, a PhD from McGill, and carried out postdoctoral training at the Salk Institute in California.

Major Research Activities

While cancer is an extraordinarily heterogeneous disease, all human malignancies involve genome wide changes in transcription. Dr. Witcher’s research career has focused on elucidating the mechanisms whereby transcription becomes deregulated in cancer. His lab aims to define the mechanisms whereby tumor suppressors become silenced and oncogenes become aberrantly activated and to utilize this information to design new therapeutic avenues to kill malignant growth.

CTCF is commonly referred to as “The Master Weaver of the Genome” and plays a critical role in repressing oncogenic transcriptional activity across the genome. As such, CTCF is commonly a target for dysfunction in cancer through multiple mechanisms including deletion, mutation and loss of the post-translational modification poly (ADP-ribosylation). Using integrated approaches including Mass-Spec, RNA-seq, ChIP-seq and animal models of cancer, the group is defining the impact of dysfunctional CTCF on diverse processes including gene regulation, epigenetic programming and DNA damage repair (eg. PNAS 2015, Science Advances 2017).

The Witcher lab is also engaged in several projects where they have identified new biomarkers predicting the efficacy of drugs targeting epigenetic processes (manuscript in preparation). They are also actively engaged in projects aimed at optimizing the clinical use of PARP-inhibitors (BMC Medicine 2015) and finding novel means to drug the poly (ADP-ribose) pathway (manuscript in preparation).
 
Recent Publications
 
Peña-Hernández R, Marques M, Hilmi K, Zhao T, Saad A, Alaoui-Jamali MA, Del Rincon SV, Ashworth T, Roy AL, Emerson BM, Witcher M. Genome-wide targeting of the epigenetic regulatory protein CTCF to gene promoters by the transcription factor TFII-I. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Feb 17;112(7):E677-86. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1416674112.

Hilmi K, Jangal M, Marques M, Zhao T, Saad S, Zhang C, Luo VM, Syme A, Rejon C, Yu Z, Krum A, Fabian MR, Richard S, Alaoui-Jamali M, Orthwein A, McCaffrey L and Witcher M. CTCF facilitates DNA double-strand break repair by enhancing homologous recombination repair. Science Advances (AAAS, Science). Accepted, in press

Marques M, Beauchamp MC, Laskov I, Qiang S, Gotlieb WH and Witcher M. Chemotherapy depletes PARP1 protein in ovarian cancer tumors: Implications for future clinical trials involving PARP inhibitors. BMC Medicine. 2015 Sep 9;13(1):217.
Snapshot
Dr. Witcher's key research projects include:

Exploring how key epigenetic regulatory proteins, such as CTCF, play multiple roles in prohibiting tumor initiation through activation of tumor suppressors, coordinating DNA repair, and maintaining genome integrity.

Investigating the impact of post-translation modification by PARP-1 and PARG on the expression of tumor suppressor genes.

Pharmacologic manipulation of epigenetic processes to inhibit cancer cell growth.
 
 
Important Links
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 23363
michael.witcher@mcgill.ca
 
Dr Michael Witcher
 
Chercheur chevronné, Institut Lady Davis
Professeur agrégé, Département d'oncologie, Université McGill

Le docteur Michael Witcher est professeur agrégé en médecine à l’Université McGill, affilié au Département d’oncologie, chercheur principal à l’Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales et membre du Centre du cancer Segal de l’Hôpital général juif. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise à l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et un doctorat à l’Université McGill, et a poursuivi une formation postdoctorale au Salk Institute de la Californie.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Bien que le cancer soit une maladie extraordinairement hétérogène, toutes les tumeurs malignes chez l’humain comportent des changements pangénomiques dans la transcription. La carrière en recherche du docteur Witcher a porté sur l’élucidation des mécanismes par lequel la transcription devient déréglée en présence d’un cancer. Son laboratoire souhaite déterminer les mécanismes par lesquels les gènes suppresseurs de tumeur sont désactivés et les oncogènes sont activés de façon incontrôlée et utiliser cette information pour concevoir de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques pour éliminer la croissance des cellules malignes.

La protéine CTCF, communément appelée « le maître d’œuvre du génome », joue un rôle essentiel dans la répression de l’activité transcriptionnelle des oncogènes à travers le génome. En tant que tel, le CTCF est souvent une cible de dysfonctionnement dans le cancer par l’entremise de plusieurs mécanismes, y compris la délétion, la mutation et la perte de la modification post-translationnelle par polyribosylation de l’ADP. En se servant de différentes stratégies intégrées, y compris la spectrométrie de masse, le séquençage de l’ARN, le séquençage à haut débit (ChIP-seq) et les modèles animaux de cancer, le groupe cherche à déterminer l’impact du CTCF dysfonctionnel sur divers processus, y compris la régulation des gènes, la programmation épigénétique et la réparation des dommages à l’ADN (p. ex. : PNAS 2015, Science Advances 2017).

Le laboratoire du docteur Witcher est aussi impliqué dans plusieurs projets au cours desquels ils ont découvert de nouveaux biomarqueurs permettant de prédire l’efficacité des médicaments ciblant les processus épigénétiques (manuscrit en préparation). Ils sont aussi très impliqués dans des projets visant à optimiser l’utilisation clinique des inhibiteurs de la PARP (BMC Medicine, 2015) et de trouver de nouvelles façons de cibler la voie de la poly(ADP-ribose) à l’aide de médicaments (manuscrit en préparation).

Publications récentes

Peña-Hernández R, Marques M, Hilmi K, Zhao T, Saad A, Alaoui-Jamali MA, Del Rincon SV, Ashworth T, Roy AL, Emerson BM, Witcher M. Genome-wide targeting of the epigenetic regulatory protein CTCF to gene promoters by the transcription factor TFII-I. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Feb 17;112(7):E677-86. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1416674112.

Hilmi K, Jangal M, Marques M, Zhao T, Saad S, Zhang C, Luo VM, Syme A, Rejon C, Yu Z, Krum A, Fabian MR, Richard S, Alaoui-Jamali M, Orthwein A, McCaffrey L and Witcher M. CTCF facilitates DNA double-strand break repair by enhancing homologous recombination repair. Science Advances (AAAS, Science). Accepted, in press.

Marques M, Beauchamp MC, Laskov I, Qiang S, Gotlieb WH and Witcher M. Chemotherapy depletes PARP1 protein in ovarian cancer tumors: Implications for future clinical trials involving PARP inhibitors. BMC Medicine. 2015 Sep 9;13(1):217.

Les projets de recherche clés du Dr Witcher sont les suivants :

Examiner comment les protéines régulatrices épigénétiques clés, telles que le CTCF, assument plusieurs fonctions dans l'inhibition de l'apparition de la tumeur par l'activation des suppresseurs de tumeur, la coordination de la réparation de l'ADN et le maintien de l'intégrité du génome.

Étudier l'impact des modifications post-translationnelles par le PARP-1 et le PARG sur l'expression des gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs.

La manipulation pharmacologique des processus épigénétiques dans l'inhibition de la croissance des cellules cancéreuses.

 
 
 
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital