Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 23438 (office)
ext. 23432 (Lab)
moulay.alaoui-jamali@mcgill.ca
Dr. Moulay Alaoui-Jamali
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Oncology, and Pharmacology and Therapeutics
Faculty of Medicine, McGill University


Dr. Alaoui-Jamali is Full Professor of Oncology and Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine, McGill University, Project Director at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, and Leader of the Drug Discovery Group at the Segal Cancer Centre of the Jewish General Hospital. His research focuses on the biology of cancer progression to metastasis, anticancer drug pharmacology, and drug discovery. The accumulation of genomic and proteomic databases for the complex metastatic disease, together with advances in technology platforms, have paved the way to increased molecular understanding of cellular targets essential for the spread of cancer beyond primary sites. Dr. Alaoui-Jamali's team is exploiting newer technologies to identify, understand, and develop “smart” drugs against key invasive cancer cell targets for therapeutic intervention. This challenge is particularly demanding in the case of advanced cancer, where a large number of genetic changes affecting multiple cell regulatory pathways occur. Another interest of this team is to understand and tackle drug resistance mechanisms associated with relapses and often seen with most clinically used therapeutic agents.

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali’s research has been published in over 100 international peer-reviewed biomedical and medical oncology journals and honoured at several international conferences, including the American Association for Cancer Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology, and the American Head and Neck Society. He serves on several national and international grant panels, the editorial boards of biomedical journals, and has edited books and book chapters related to the field of oncology science. His research has been supported by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR), the Canadian Cancer Society (National Cancer Institute), the US Army Medical Research Initiative, the Quebec Breast Cancer and Prostate Cancer Foundations, the
Fonds de recherches en santé du Québec, and the Cancer Research Society.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali’s research relates to biology of cancer progression, drug resistance, cancer biomarkers, and novel therapeutics with a focus on breast, prostate, head and neck, and liver carcinomas.

Cancer is a complex disease that involves multiple mechanisms and routes affected by a variety of tissue microenvironment, host, and acquired factors. In this respect, Dr. Alaoui-Jamali’s group has contributed to the understanding of molecular pathways that drive early cancer cell progression to metastasis in the complex tissue microenvironment.

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali’s laboratory exploits novel technologies including functional and structural proteomics and bioinformatics to identify key therapeutic targets and develop selective agents for therapeutic intervention f
or advanced cancer.

Recent Publications

Filamin A regulates focal adhesion disassembly and suppresses breast cancer cell migration and invasion. Xu Y, Bismar TA, Su J, Xu B, Kristiansen G, Varga Z, Teng L, Ingber DE, Mammoto A, Kumar R, Alaoui-Jamali MA. J Exp Med. 2010 Oct 25;207 (11):2421-37. [Epub ahead of print]

A novel experimental heme oxygenase-1-targeted therapy for hormone-refractory prostate cancer. Alaoui-Jamali MA, Bismar TA, Gupta A, Szarek WA, Su J, Song W, Xu Y, Xu B, Liu G, Vlahakis JZ, Roman G, Jiao J, Schipper HM. Cancer Res. 2009 Oct 15;69(20):8017-24.

Overexpression of SERTAD3, a putative oncogene located within the 19q13 amplicon, induces E2F activity and promotes tumor growth. Darwish H, Cho JM, Loignon M, Alaoui-Jamali MA. Oncogene. 2007 Jun 21;26(29):4319-28.

Snapshot

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali’s team has contributed to the characterization of molecular switches by which tyrosine kinase receptors of the ErbB family promote cancer cell migration and invasion.

His laboratory discovered and cloned a novel member of the TRIP gene family of transcription factors called RBT/SERTAD, which encodes for an oncoprotein involved in the regulation of cell cycle (NIH Gene bank accession # AF192529 and AF317202) and whose chromosomal location is amplified/overexpressed in malignancies such as ovarian carcinomas.

His laboratory is internationally known for investigating novel anticancer agents in in-vitro and in-vivo preclinical cancer models.

His current focus is to understand and target signalling pathways that drive early stage cancer cell invasion.

 
 
Important Links

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali's Profile at the McGill Center for Translational Research in Cancer

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali's Profile at the McGill Department of Oncology

Dr. Alaoui-Jamali's Profile at the McGill Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 23438 (bureau)
poste 23432 (laboratoire)
moulay.alaoui-jamali@mcgill.ca
Dr Moulay Alaoui-Jamali
Professeur et chercheur chevronné, Institut Lady Davis
Professeur, départements de médecine, d’oncologie et de pharmacologie et thérapeutique, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill
 
Le Dr Alaoui-Jamali est professeur titulaire en oncologie et en médecine, à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill, directeur de projet à l’Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales et chef du Groupe de recherche sur les médicaments du Centre du cancer Segal, à l’Hôpital général juif. Ses recherches sont axées sur la biologie associée à la progression du cancer pour former des métastases, la pharmacologie des médicaments oncologiques et la découverte de nouveaux médicaments. L’accumulation de données dans des bases de données génomiques et protéomiques, pour les cas complexes de maladie métastatique, de même que les percées dans plateformes technologiques, ont pavé la voie à une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes moléculaires relatifs aux cibles cellulaires essentielles à la propagation du cancer au-delà des sites primaires. L’équipe du Dr Alaoui-Jamali se sert des technologies les plus récentes pour découvrir, comprenDre et concevoir des médicaments « intelligents » contre des cibles cellulaires clés du cancer envahissant pour une intervention thérapeutique. Ce défi est particulièrement exigeant, dans le cas du cancer avancé, parce qu’un grand nombre de changements génétiques affectant plusieurs voies de régulation cellulaires y surviennent. Un autre intérêt de cette équipe consiste à mieux comprenDre et cibler les mécanismes de résistance aux médicaments associée aux récurrences de cancer et souvent observée chez les agents thérapeutiques les plus utilisés.

Les recherches du Dr Alaoui-Jamali ont été publiées dans plus de 100 revues internationales à comité de lecture, dans le domaine biomédicale et en oncologie médicale, et honorées lors de plusieurs conférences internationales, y compris celle de l’American Association for Cancer Research, de l’American Society of Clinical Oncology, de la Société canadienne d’otorhinolaryngologie et de l’American Head and Neck Society. Le Dr Alaoui-Jamali siège sur plusieurs comités nationaux et internationaux d’attribution des bourses de recherche et sur le comité de rédaction de plusieurs revues biomédicales et a agit à titre de réviseur de nombreux livres de référence et chapitres de livres dans le domaine de la cancérologie. Ses recherches ont été subventionnées par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), la Société canadienne du cancer (Institut national du cancer), l’Initiative de recherche médicale de l’armée américaine, la Fondation québécoise du cancer du sein, la Fondation québécoise du cancer de la prostate, le Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec et la Société de recherche sur le cancer.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les recherches du Dr Alaoui-Jamali portent sur la biologie de la progression du cancer, la résistance aux médicaments, les biomarqueurs du cancer et les nouvelles thérapies anticancéreuses, particulièrement pour les cas de cancer du sein, de la prostate, de cancer cervicofacial et du foie.

Le cancer est une maladie complexe qui implique plusieurs mécanismes et voies affectées par une diversité de microenvironnements tissulaires, d’hôtes et de facteurs acquis. À cet égard, le groupe du Dr Alaoui-Jamali a contribué à mieux comprenDre les voies moléculaires qui déclenchent la progression des cellules cancéreuses pour former des métastases dans un microenvironnement tissulaire complexe.

Le laboratoire du Dr Alaoui-Jamali se sert de nouvelles technologies, y compris la protéomique et la bioinformatique fonctionnelles et structurelles, pour identifier les cibles thérapeutiques clés et concevoir des agents sélectifs permettant une intervention thérapeutique dans les cas de cancer avancé.
 
Publications récentes
 
Filamin A regulates focal adhesion disassembly and suppresses breast cancer cell migration and invasion. Xu Y, Bismar TA, Su J, Xu B, Kristiansen G, Varga Z, Teng L, Ingber DE, Mammoto A, Kumar R, Alaoui-Jamali MA. J Exp Med. 2010 Oct 25;207 (11):2421-37. [Epub ahead of print]

A novel experimental heme oxygenase-1-targeted therapy for hormone-refractory prostate cancer. Alaoui-Jamali MA, Bismar TA, Gupta A, Szarek WA, Su J, Song W, Xu Y, Xu B, Liu G, Vlahakis JZ, Roman G, Jiao J, Schipper HM. Cancer Res. 2009 Oct 15;69(20):8017-24.

Overexpression of SERTAD3, a putative oncogene located within the 19q13 amplicon, induces E2F activity and promotes tumor growth. Darwish H, Cho JM, Loignon M, Alaoui-Jamali MA. Oncogene. 2007 Jun 21;26(29):4319-28.

L’équipe du Dr Alaoui-Jamali a contribué à la caractérisation des interrupteurs moléculaires par lesquels les récepteurs de la tyrosine kinase de la famille ErbB favorisaient la migration et l’envahissement par des cellules cancéreuses.
Son laboratoire a découvert et cloné un nouveau membre de la famille du gène TRIP des facteurs de transcription, appelé RBT/SERTAD, qui code pour une oncoprotéine participant à la régulation du cycle cellulaire (accès à la banque de gène du NIH no AF192529 et AF317202) et dont la localisation chromosomique est amplifiée et surexprimée dans les cancers tels que le cancer des ovaires.
Son laboratoire est reconnu internationalement pour ses recherches sur des nouveaux médicaments oncologiques par l’entremise de modèles de cancer précliniques in vitro.
Il s’attarde présentement à mieux comprendre et cibler les voies de signalisation qui déclenchent le premier stade d’envahissement par des cellules cancéreuses.

 
 
Publication du Dr Alaoui-Jamali indexées dans PubMed

Profil du Dr Alaoui-Jamali au Centre de recherche translationnelle en oncologie de l’Université McGill

Profil du Dr Alaoui-Jamali au Département d’oncologie de l’Université McGill

 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital