Tel.: 514-340-8222
email address
Dr. Richard Sheppard
 
Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Director of Clinical Research in Heart Failure, Jewish General Hospital, Montreal
 
 
Dr. Richard Sheppard graduated from McGill University Medical School in 1996. He then undertook training in internal medicine and did a fellowship in cardiovascular medicine at McGill.

Dr. Sheppard pursued his interests in cardiology in Pittsburgh, where he completed a fellowship in congestive heart failure / pulmonary hypertension / cardiac transplantation at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center in 2002-2003. He then pursued his research at the Montreal Heart Institute, where he completed a fellowship in clinical research in congestive heart failure with Dr. Michel White.

Dr. Sheppard joined the Division of Cardiology at the Jewish General Hospital (JGH) as an Assistant Professor in Medicine at McGill University in 2004. He has since become the Director of Clinical Research in Heart Failure at the JGH. Dr. Sheppard is an active member of the Heart Failure Society of America and the Quebec Heart Failure Society, and continues to publish manuscripts and contribute to abstracts related to clinical heart failure studies.

He interacts with his colleagues at institutions, on the national and international levels, with a focus on clinical trials in heart failure. His major focus in clinical research has been in the area of acute decompensated heart failure (ADHF). He has involved both the LDI and the JGH in major clinical trials investigating both novel agents and novel technology aimed at treating ADHF.

He has an interest, as well, in the impact of genetic profiles on response to medical therapy in patients with acute and chronic heart failure. In addition, he continues to be involved in studies examining how genetic profiles of inflammatory markers influence the clinical course of diseases, such as peripartum cardiomyopathy and acute/recent onset non-ischemic cardiomyopathy.

As the Director of Clinical Research in Heart Failure at the JGH, Dr. Sheppard is the site primary investigator in a number of ongoing major international clinical trials. 
 
Major Research Activities
 
Examining the impact of novel therapies on clinical outcomes in patients with acute and chronic heart failure. Examining the impact of genetic profiles on therapeutic response and clinical outcomes in patients with acute and chronic heart failure.
 
Recent Publications
 
R Sheppard and McNamara DM. “Pharamcogenetics”. Heart Failure: Pharmacologic management. Ed. Arthur Feldman. Wiley Blackwell, 2006: 236-249.

R Sheppard. “Vascular tone and the genomics of hypertension” Heart Fail Clin. 2010; 6: 45-53.
Snapshot

Dr. Richard Sheppard is a clinician scientist in the area of acute and chronic congestive heart failure.

He is involved in a number of clinical trials that examine the impact of novel technologies and medicines on clinical outcomes in patients with heart failure. 

He has an interest in the interaction between patient genetic profiles and response to therapy/clinical outcomes in patients with heart failure.

 
 
Important Links


Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222
richard.sheppard@mcgill.ca


 
Dr Richard Sheppard
Directeur division de cardiologie, l’Hôpital général juif

Le Dr Richard Sheppard a obtenu son diplôme de lÉcole de médecine de lUniversité McGill en 1996. Il a ensuite poursuivi une formation en médecine interne et une spécialisation en médecine cardiovasculaire à lUniversité McGill.

Poussé par son intérêt en cardiologie, le Dr Sheppard sest rendu à Pittsburgh il a complété une spécialisation sur linsuffisance cardiaque congestive, lhypertension pulmonaire et la transplantation cardiaque au centre médical de lUniversité de Pittsburgh, en 2002-2003. Il sest ensuite rendu à lInstitut de cardiologie de Montréal il a complété une spécialisation en recherche clinique sur linsuffisance cardiaque congestive, sous la supervision du Dr Michel White.

Le Dr Sheppard sest joint à la Division de cardiologie de lHôpital général juif (HGJ) à titre de professeur adjoint en médecine à lUniversité McGill, en 2004. Depuis ce temps, il est devenu directeur de la recherche clinique sur linsuffisance cardiaque à lHGJ. Le Dr Sheppard est un membre actif de la Heart Failure Society of America et de la Société québécoise de linsuffisance cardiaque et continue de publier des manuscrits et dapporter sa contribution à lécriture de résumés découlant détudes cliniques sur linsuffisance cardiaque.

Il interagit avec des collègues dautres établissements, à léchelle nationale et internationale, particulièrement lors dessais cliniques sur linsuffisance cardiaque. Ses recherches cliniques mettent laccent sur linsuffisance cardiaque aiguë décompensée (ICAD). Il a participé à lILD et à lHGJ à des essais cliniques denvergure évaluant de nouveaux médicaments et de nouvelles technologies dans le traitement de lICAD.

Il sintéresse aussi à limpact des différents profils génétiques sur la réponse au traitement médical de patients atteints dinsuffisance cardiaque aiguë et chronique. Par ailleurs, il continue de participer à des études évaluant comment les profils génétiques des marqueurs inflammatoires affectent lévolution clinique de maladies telles que la cardiomyopathie périnatale et la cardiomyopathie non ischémique aiguë ou dapparition récente.

En tant que directeur de la recherche clinique sur linsuffisance cardiaque à lHGJ, le Dr Sheppard est le chercheur principal dans un grand nombre dessais cliniques internationaux de grande envergure en cours présentement.

 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Étudier l’impact de nouveaux traitements sur les résultats cliniques obtenus chez les patients atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque aiguë ou chronique. Étudier l’impact du profil génétique sur la réponse thérapeutique et les résultats cliniques obtenus chez les patients atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque aiguë ou chronique.
 
Publications récentes
 
R Sheppard and McNamara DM. “Pharamcogenetics”. Heart Failure: Pharmacologic management. Ed. Arthur Feldman. Wiley Blackwell, 2006: 236-249.

R Sheppard
. “Vascular tone and the genomics of hypertension” Heart Fail Clin. 2010; 6: 45-53. 

Le Dr Richard Sheppard est un chercheur clinicien dans le domaine de l’insuffisance cardiaque congestive aiguë et chronique.

Il participe à un grand nombre d’essais cliniques qui s’intéressent à l’impact de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux médicaments chez les patients atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque. 

Il s’intéresse à l’interaction entre le profil génétique du patient et sa réponse au traitement et aux résultats cliniques obtenus chez les patients atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque.

 
 

 
 
...
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital