Tel.: 514-340-8110
 
Or contact:
Stavroula Giannopoulos
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 25252
stavroula.giannopoulos@
ladydavis.ca 
Roderick R. McInnes, CM, MD, PhD, FRSC
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute, Jewish General Hospital
Alva Chair in Human Genetics,
Professor of Genetics,
Professor of Biochemistry, McGill University
 
 

Roderick R. McInnes, CM OOnt MD, PhD is the Alva Chair in Human Genetics, Professor of Human Genetics and Biochemistry, and Senior Investigator at the Lady Davis Institute of the Jewish General Hospital, all of McGill University.

Prof. McInnes was previously the Head of the Program in Developmental Biology at the Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, and a University Professor at the University of Toronto, an HHMI International Research Scholar, and the Inaugural Scientific Director of the Institute of Genetics of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). He has made important contributions to understanding the molecular basis of retinal and eye development, the identification of genes and processes associated with retinal degeneration, and knowledge of synaptic proteins that modulate ion channels in the nervous system. He is one of three coauthors of the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th editions of the classic textbook Thompson and Thompson’s Genetics in Medicine, for which the co-authors received the 2015 American Society of Human Genetics Award for Excellence in Human Genetics Education. In 2010, Dr. McInnes was President of the American Society of Human Genetics. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS), and was appointed to the Order of Ontario in 2008 and the Order of Canada in 2009. From 2009- 2021 (March) he was the Director of the Lady Davis Institute and until 2017, Canada Research Chair in Neurogenetics. In 2017-2018 he served as the Acting President of CIHR. He received the Paul Armstrong Lecture Award from the CAHS for leadership in advancing health sciences, and the Research Canada Leadership in Advocacy Award for championing health research at the national level in 2019.


Major Research Activities

Historically our lab has focused on retinal and brain development, photoreceptor degeneration and accessory proteins of ion channels in the nervous system. In inherited neurodegenerations, we wish to understand what is happening in the mutant neurons, in the years to decades between their birth and their death. After decades of normal function, why do the neurons suddenly die? To address this question, we identified molecular mechanisms that contribute to or protect against the death of mutant photoreceptors (PRs) using mouse models of PR diseases. Understanding of these mechanisms has suggested therapeutic opportunities to slow PR death. Our current major focus is on the molecular, cellular and phenotypic analysis of a largely uncharacterized microtubule-associated protein whose loss of function in mice impairs the growth of the whole animal, and the development of the brain.

  

Recent Publications

Ivakine, E.A., Acton, B.A., Mahadevan, V., Ormond, J., Tang, C., Pressey, J. C., Ng, D., Delpire, E., Salter, M. W., Woodin, M.A. and McInnes, R. R. (2013). Neto2 is a KCC2 Auxiliary Protein Required for Neuronal Cl- Regulation in Mature Hippocampal Neurons Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 110, 3561-3566.

Wyeth, M., Pelkey, K., Petralia, R., Salter, M., McInnes, R.R. and McBain, C. (2013). Neto auxiliary protein interactions regulate kainate & NMDA receptor subunit localization at mossy fiber-CA3 pyramidal cell synapses. J Neuroscience 34, 622-628, 2014.

Mahadevan, V., Pressey, J.C., Acton, B.A., Uvarov, P., Huang, M.Y., Chevier, J., Puchalski, A., Li, C.M., Ivakine, E. A., Airaksinen, M., Depire, E., McInnes, R.R., Melanie A. Woodin (2014). Kainate Receptors Coexist in a Functional Complex with KCC2 and Regulate Chloride Homeostasis in Hippocampal Neurons. Cell Reports 7, 1762–1770.

Jiang, C.K., Wright, K.L., Bramall, A.N., Szego, M.J., Egan, S.E., McInnes, R.R. Stat3 mediates protection of mutant photoreceptors in inherited photoreceptor degeneration (2014). Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 111 (52) E5716-E5723.

Jung, C., Atan, D., Ng, D., Ploder, L., Ross, S., Klein, M., Birch, D., Diez, E., McInnes, R.R. (2015). Transcription factor PRDM8 is required for rod bipolar and type 2 OFF-cone bipolar cell survival and amacrine subtype identity. Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 112, E3010-19.

Mahadevan, V., Dargaei, Z., Ivakine, E., Hartmann, A-M., Ng, D., Chevrier, J., Ormond, J., Nothwang, H. G., McInnes, R. R., Woodin, M.A. Neto2-null mice have impaired GABA-mediated inhibition and are susceptible to seizures (2015). Frontiers in Cellular Neuroscience (2015). Sep 23;9:368. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2015.00368

Wyeth, M., Pelkey, K.A., Yuan, Y., Vargish, G., Johnston, A.D., Hunt, S., Fang, C., Abebe, D., Mahadevan, V., Fisahn, A., Salter, M., McInnes, R.R., Chittajallu, R., McBain, C.J. Neto Auxiliary Subunits Regulate Interneuron Somatodendritic and Presynaptic Kainate Receptors to Control Network Inhibition (2017). Cell Reports 20, 2156–2168.
Snapshot

Dr. Roderick McInnes is an internationally recognized researcher in the genetics of vision.

His group identified the eye developmental genes CHX10, and VSX1 and Prdm8, as well as the photoreceptor genes CRX, ROM1 and PHR1. Four of these genes have been associated with inherited eye diseases.

His group determined that the kinetics of photoreceptor death in inherited retinal degenerations are exponential, indicating that the cells are at a constant risk of death and do not die of cumulative damage.

With Michael Salter, he identified Neto1 and Neto2 as important accessory proteins for ion channels in neurons. They established that it is possible to correct an inherited learning defect in mice with a drug, a finding with important implications for human learning disability.

 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8110
 
Ou contacter:
Stavroula Giannopoulos
Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 25252
stavroula.giannopoulos@
ladydavis.ca 
Roderick R. McInnes, C.M., M.D., Ph. D., FRSC
 
Chercheur chevronné, Institut Lady Davis
Titulaire de la chaire Alva en génétique humaine
Professeur en génétique et en biochimie, Université McGill
 
Roderick R. McInnes, CM, OOnt, M.D., Ph. D, est titulaire de la chaire Alva en génétique humaine et de la chaire de recherche du Canada en neurogénétique, et professeur en génétique et en biochimie à l’Université McGill.

Au cours de sa carrière, il a été chef du programme de biologie développementale à l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital pour enfants malades et professeur à l’Université de Toronto, chercheur international à l’Institut de médecine Howard Hughes, et premier directeur scientifique de l’Institut de génétique des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Ses recherches ont grandement amélioré la compréhension des fondements moléculaires du développement rétinien et oculaire, de l’identification des gènes, des processus associés à la dégénérescence rétinienne et des protéines synaptiques qui modulent les canaux ioniques dans le système nerveux. Un des trois coauteurs des 5e, 6e, 7e, et 8e éditions du fameux Thompson and Thompson’s Genetics in Medicine, il a remporté en 2015 pour cet ouvrage le prix Award for Excellence in Human Genetics Education de l’American Society of Human Genetics, dont il a également été président en 2010. Membre de la Société royale du Canada et de l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé (ACSS), il a aussi été nommé membre de l’Ordre de l’Ontario en 2008 et membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2009. De 2009 à mars 2021, il a été directeur de l’Institut Lady Davis, avant de devenir président intérimaire des IRSC en 2017-2018; jusqu’en 2017, il était titulaire de la chaire de recherche du Canada en neurogénétique. Il a reçu le prix Paul Armstrong de l’ACSS pour son leadership et sa contribution aux sciences de la santé, et le Prix de leadership en promotion de la recherche pour avoir fait rayonner la recherche au pays en 2019.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Notre laboratoire étudie principalement le développement de la rétine et du cerveau, la dégénérescence des photorécepteurs et les protéines accessoires aux canaux ioniques dans le système nerveux. Nous cherchons à comprendre ce qui se passe dans les neurones mutants chez les personnes atteintes d’une maladie dégénérative : après avoir fonctionné normalement pendant des années ou décennies, pourquoi meurent-ils soudainement? Pour répondre à cette question, nous avons ciblé et étudié les mécanismes moléculaires qui encouragent ou préviennent la mort des photorécepteurs mutants en modèle murin. Nos recherches semblent indiquer qu’il existe des traitements pour ralentir la mort des photorécepteurs. Actuellement, nous nous penchons surtout sur l’analyse moléculaire, cellulaire et phénotypique d’une protéine généralement non caractérisée associée aux microtubules dont la perte de fonction chez les souris perturbe la croissance de l’animal en entier, et sur le développement du cerveau.
 
Publications récentes 
 
Ivakine, E.A., Acton, B.A., Mahadevan, V., Ormond, J., Tang, C., Pressey, J. C., Ng, D., Delpire, E., Salter, M. W., Woodin, M.A. and McInnes, R. R. (2013). Neto2 is a KCC2 Auxiliary Protein Required for Neuronal Cl- Regulation in Mature Hippocampal Neurons Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 110, 3561-3566.

Wyeth, M., Pelkey, K., Petralia, R., Salter, M., McInnes, R.R. and McBain, C. (2013). Neto auxiliary protein interactions regulate kainate & NMDA receptor subunit localization at mossy fiber-CA3 pyramidal cell synapses. J Neuroscience 34, 622-628, 2014.

Mahadevan, V., Pressey, J.C., Acton, B.A., Uvarov, P., Huang, M.Y., Chevier, J., Puchalski, A., Li, C.M., Ivakine, E. A., Airaksinen, M., Depire, E., McInnes, R.R., Melanie A. Woodin (2014). Kainate Receptors Coexist in a Functional Complex with KCC2 and Regulate Chloride Homeostasis in Hippocampal Neurons. Cell Reports 7, 1762–1770.

Jiang, C.K., Wright, K.L., Bramall, A.N., Szego, M.J., Egan, S.E., McInnes, R.R. Stat3 mediates protection of mutant photoreceptors in inherited photoreceptor degeneration (2014). Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 111 (52) E5716-E5723.

Jung, C., Atan, D., Ng, D., Ploder, L., Ross, S., Klein, M., Birch, D., Diez, E., McInnes, R.R. (2015). Transcription factor PRDM8 is required for rod bipolar and type 2 OFF-cone bipolar cell survival and amacrine subtype identity. Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. (USA) 112, E3010-19.

Mahadevan, V., Dargaei, Z., Ivakine, E., Hartmann, A-M., Ng, D., Chevrier, J., Ormond, J., Nothwang, H. G., McInnes, R. R., Woodin, M.A. Neto2-null mice have impaired GABA-mediated inhibition and are susceptible to seizures (2015). Frontiers in Cellular Neuroscience (2015). Sep 23;9:368. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2015.00368

Wyeth, M., Pelkey, K.A., Yuan, Y., Vargish, G., Johnston, A.D., Hunt, S., Fang, C., Abebe, D., Mahadevan, V., Fisahn, A., Salter, M., McInnes, R.R., Chittajallu, R., McBain, C.J. Neto Auxiliary Subunits Regulate Interneuron Somatodendritic and Presynaptic Kainate Receptors to Control Network Inhibition (2017). Cell Reports 20, 2156–2168.

Le Dr Roderick McInnes est un chercheur de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la génétique de la vision.
Son groupe a découvert les gènes du développement oculaire (CHX10 et VSX1), ainsi que les gènes des photorécepteurs (CRX, ROM1 et PHR1). Tous ces gènes, excepté PHR1, ont été associés aux maladies oculaires héréditaires.
Son groupe a déterminé que la cinétique de la mort des photorécepteurs dans la dégénérescence rétinienne héréditaire était exponentielle, ce qui signifie que les cellules sont constamment à risque de mort et ne meurent pas des suites de dommages cumulatifs.
Avec Michael Salter, son groupe a récemment découvert la Neto1, une protéine importante pour l’apprentissage et la mémoire, et a déterminé qu’il était possible de corriger un trouble d’apprentissage héréditaire chez les souris à l’aide d’un médicament, une découverte comportant des implications majeures pour les troubles d’apprentissage chez l’humain.4
 
 
Publications du Dr McInnes indexées dans PubMed
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital