Tel.: 514-340-7593
Samy Suissa, PhD
 
Director, Centre for Clinical Epidemiology, Lady Davis Institute
Professor, Departments of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and of Medicine, McGill University
 

Dr. Samy Suissa (PhD, University of Florida '82) is Director of the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology, Lady Davis Institute, and Professor, Departments of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and of Medicine, McGill University. Dr. Suissa heads the Canadian Network for Observational Drug Effect Studies (CNODES) and the McGill Pharmacoepidemiology Research Unit. He was the founding Director of the Quebec Research Network on Medication Use, funded by the FRSQ.

Dr. Suissa has chaired and served on several review committees for the
Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), including chairing the FRSQ Chercheur-National awards committee. He serves on the External Advisory Board of PROTECT, the drug safety consortium formed by the European Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI). Dr. Suissa is on the Editorial Board of the European Respiratory Journal, Lancet Respiratory Medicine, COPD -The Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, and Pharmacoepidemiology and Drug Safety. He is a Section Head editor in statistical methodologies and health informatics for F-1000 Medicine. He served as Associate Editor of the Journal of Disease Management and Health Outcomes, as well as Treatments in Respiratory Medicine. He was an elected member of the boards of directors of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology and of the Canadian Association for Pharmaceutical Therapeutics.

Dr. Suissa has received
Chercheur-Boursier awards from the FRSQ, a Senior Scientist award from the Medical Research Council of Canada (MRC) and the Distinguished Scientist award from CIHR. He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Science. He was the recipient of the FC Donders Professor Award from the Universiteit Utrecht, Netherlands, and currently holds a James McGill Professor Chair from McGill University.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Suissa’s research is in pharmacoepidemiology which involves studying the risks and benefits of medications at the within the population at large. He specializes in the exploitation of existing computerized health databases to rapidly evaluate these risks. He has developed, and published extensively on, new methods of data analysis and study design that allow more rapid and accurate assessments of drug safety. He has conducted pharmacoepidemiological studies of several medications used for the treatment of chronic diseases, including asthma and COPD, diabetes, cardiovascular and rheumatic diseases, and women’s health issues. He has lectured extensively throughout the world, and is the author of more than 360 peer-reviewed research papers published in scientific journals.

Recent Publications
 
Suissa S, Patenaude V, Lapi F, Ernst P. Inhaled corticosteroids in COPD and the risk of serious pneumonia. Thorax 2013;68(11):1029-36.

Suissa S, Moodie EE, Dell’Aniello S. Prevalent new-user cohort designs for comparative drug effect studies by time-conditional propensity scores. Pharmacoepidemiol Drug Saf 2017;26(4):459-468.

Suissa S, Dell’Aniello S, Ernst P. Long-acting bronchodilator initiation in COPD and the risk of adverse cardio-pulmonary events: A population-based comparative safety study. Chest 2017;151(1)60-67.

Snapshot

Dr. Suissa is an internationally recognized scientist in the field of pharmacoepidemiology, and is frequently invited to speak at meetings and conferences.

Dr. Suissa has received several research scholar awards from FRSQ, MRC, and CIHR over the past 25 years, as well as the prestigious FC Donders Award from the Universiteit Utrecht.

Dr. Suissa has published extensive studies on the risks and benefits of commonly used medications for the treatment of several chronic diseases.

 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-7593
samy.suissa@mcgill.ca
 
Samy Suissa, Ph.D.
 
Directeur, Centre d'épidémiologie clinique, Institut Lady Davis
Professeur, départements d'épidémiologie et de biostatistiques et de médecine, Université McGill


Le Dr Samy Suissa (Ph.D., Université de la Floride, en 1982) est directeur du Centre d'épidémiologie clinique de l'Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales et professeur aux départements d'épidémiologie et de biostatistiques et de médecine de l'Université McGill. Le Dr Suissa dirige aussi le Réseau canadien pour l’étude observationnelle sur les effets des médicaments (RCEOEM) et l'Unité de recherches pharmacoépidémiologiques de McGill. Il a été directeur fondateur du Réseau québécois de recherche sur l'usage des médicaments, financé par le FRQS.

Le Dr Suissa a dirigé et siégé sur plusieurs comité de révision du Fonds de la recherche du Québec - Santé (FRQS) et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC); il a aussi assumé la présidence du comité d'attribution des prix de chercheur national du FRQS. Il siège au comité consultatif externe de PROTECT, le consortium sur l'innocuité des médicaments mis sur pied par la Europen Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI). Le Dr Suissa est membre du comité de rédaction de l'European Respiratory Journal, Lancet Respiratory Medicine, COPD -The Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, et Pharmacoepidemiology and Drug Safety. Il est rédacteur en chef de la section sur les méthodes statistiques et l'informatique de la santé pour la revue F-1000 Medicine. Il a siégé à titre de rédacteur en chef adjoint du Journal of Disease Management and Health Outcomes, de même queTreatments in Respiratory Medicine. Il a été élu membre du comité directeur de l'International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology et de la Société canadienne de pharmacie et thérapeutiques.

Le Dr Suissa a obtenu le Prix de chercheur-boursier du FRQS, de chercheur chevronné du Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada (CRM) et le prix de chercheur distingué des IRSC. Il est membre de l'Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé (ACSS). Il a été récipiendaire du Prix d'excellence en enseignement FC Donders de l'Université Utrecht aux Pays-Bas est présentement professeur titulaire de la chaire James McGill de l'Université McGill.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les recherches du Dr Suissa portent sur la pharmacoépidémiologie qui comprend l'étude des risques et bénéfices des médicaments au sein de la population en général. Il se spécialise dans l'exploitation de bases de données informatisées existantes en matière de santé pour évaluer rapidement ces risques. Il a élaboré et publié abondamment sur de nouvelles méthodes d'analyse des données et devis d'études qui permettent des évaluations plus rapide et plus précises de l'innocuité des médicaments. Il a mené des études pharmacoépidémiologiques sur plusieurs médicaments utilisés dans le traitement de maladies chroniques, y compris l'asthme et la MPOC, diabète, les maladies cardiovasculaires et rhumatoïdes et les problèmes associés à la santé des femmes. Il a donné de nombreuses conférences à travers le monde et est l'auteur de plus de 360 articles de recherche publiés dans des revues scientifiques à comité de lecture.

Publications récentes
 
Suissa S, Patenaude V, Lapi F, Ernst P. Inhaled corticosteroids in COPD and the risk of serious pneumonia. Thorax 2013;68(11):1029-36.

Suissa S, Moodie EE, Dell’Aniello S. Prevalent new-user cohort designs for comparative drug effect studies by time-conditional propensity scores. Pharmacoepidemiol Drug Saf 2017;26(4):459-468.

Suissa S, Dell’Aniello S, Ernst P. Long-acting bronchodilator initiation in COPD and the risk of adverse cardio-pulmonary events: A population-based comparative safety study. Chest 2017;151(1)60-67.

Le Dr Suissa est un chercheur de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la pharmacoépidémiologie fréquemment invité à présenter lors de rencontres nationales et internationales.

Le Dr Suissa a remporté de nombreuses bourses de recherche du FRQS, du CRM et des IRSC, au cours des 25 dernières années de même que le prestigieux prix FC Donders de l'Université Utrecht.

Le Dr Suissa a abondamment publié d'études sur les risques et bénéfices associés à des médicaments couramment utilisés dans le traitement de différentes maladies chroniques.

 
 
Publications du Dr Suissa indexées dans PubMed
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital