Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 24470
email address

 

Stéphane Richard, PhD

 

Associate Director, Lady Davis Institute

James McGill Professor of Medicine and Oncology, McGill University

 
Dr. Stéphane Richard, Ph.D., FRSQ Chercheur National, is a James McGill Professor of Medicine and Oncology at McGill University and an Associate Director of Research at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research at the Jewish General Hospital in Montreal.

Major Research Activities

 

Dr. Richard is interested in elucidating the role of protein arginine methylation in epigenetics and DNA damage signaling (see Mol Cell 18:263, 2005). Dr. Richard and his coworkers developed key reagents that permitted them to study the extent of protein arginine methylation (Mol Cell Proteomic 2:1319, 2003). In a proteomic study, they identified more than 200 methylated proteins at which time there were about 20 known proteins. These findings demonstrated that arginine methylation is a common post-translational modification and this led to the increase in visibility of protein methylation.

 

Dr. Richard and coworkers reported that proteins involved in repairing damaged DNA were methylated (Genes&Dev 19:671, 2005). They also showed that methylation of these key DNA damage proteins is essential for their function and to maintain genomic stability (Mol & Cell Biol 29:2982, 2009). These findings have implications for cancer treatment, as inhibitors of protein arginine methyltransferase may synergize with chemotoxic agents to increase the efficacy of treatment. They also discovered that arginine methylation can regulate protein sub-cellular localization (Mol Biol Cell 14:274, 2003), protein to protein interactions (J Biol Chem 275:16030, 2000), and pre-mRNA splicing (J Cell Biol 159:957, 2002). They also identified a subset of signaling proteins that associate with arginine methylated proteins (J Biol Chem 280:28476, 2005). They are actively defining the role of arginine methylation in gene regulation and the maintenance of genomic stability. 
 
Dr. Richard and coworkers defined a new signaling cascade that transmits signals from the extracellular milieu to the RNA binding protein, Sam68. This pathway allows the cell to rapidly alter its RNA metabolism in response to external cues (Mol & Cell Biol 15: 186, 1995). Dr. Richard's group elucidated the molecular mechanisms by which Sam68 signals to the cell interior. They demonstrated that Sam68 relocalizes from the nucleus to the plasma membrane to associate with Src kinases in response to specific extracellular cues, becoming an adaptor protein for local tyrosine kinases such as Src family kinases (Mol & Cell Biol 29:1933, 2009). This work defined a new property of RNA-binding proteins as adaptor proteins and explained how Sam68 can rapidly link the environment to intracellular signal transduction. Dr. Richard's laboratory also showed that Sam68 localizes to a novel nuclear structure, termed the Sam68 nuclear body, present only in cancer cells, and is likely to regulate nuclear RNA metabolism (Mol Biol Cell 10:3015, 1999).

 

In studies of mice lacking the Sam68 gene, Dr. Richard and colleagues demonstrated that Sam68-signalling is essential for normal brain development (Behav Brain Res 189:357, 2008; PLoS Genet e74, 2005), the maintenance of bone mass (PLoS Genet e74, 2005), and spermatogenesis (J Cell Biol 185:235, 2009), as well as contributing to protection against breast cancer (Oncogene 27:548, 2008). These findings have important implications for the role of this RNA binding protein in genetically complex human diseases. Dr. Richard and coworkers are actively defining the molecular and cellular roles of Sam68 in metabolic diseases and cancer.

 

Dr. Richard and colleagues reported that QKI is essential for the normal myelination of the central nervous system, since mutations in the QKI gene in mice impair its expression in oligodendrocytes and leads to the quaking viable mouse phenotype. They showed that these mice harbor a defect in QKI expression in oligodendrocytes at the time of central nervous system myelination (Neuron 36:815, 2002; Nature Neurosci 8:27, 2005). This research on QKI has provided a new perspective on RNA binding proteins in oligodendrocyte physiology (Trends Genet 24:416, 2008).

 

Dr. Richard and coworkers reported the identification of genes bound by QKI in the entire genome (Nat Struct Mol Biol 12:691, 2005). There are more than 1000 RNA targets that were found further linking QKI to the process of myelination, thus defining a new role for QKI in cancer. Dr. Richard and coworkers are actively defining the molecular targets regulated by the QKI RNA binding proteins in normal and diseased cells.



Recent Publications

Darbelli L and S. Richard. 2016. Emerging functions of the Quaking RNA binding proteins and link to human diseases. WIREs RNA 2016 Mar 14. doi: 10.1002/wrna.1344

Neault M, F.A. Mallette and S. Richard. 2016. miR-137 modulates a tumour suppressor network inducing senescence in pancreatic cancer cells. Cell Reports 14:1966-78

Blanc RS, G. Vogel, C. Crist and S. Richard. 2016. PRMT7 preserves satellite cell regeneration capacity. Cell Reports 14:1528-39

Darbelli, L, G. Vogel, G. Almazan and S. Richard. 2016. Quaking regulates neurofascin 155 expression for myelin and axoglial junction maintenance. J Neurosci 36:4106-20

Thandapani, P./J. Song, V. Gandin, Y. Cai, S. G. Rouleau, , J.-M. Garant, F.-M. Boisvert, Z. Yu, J.-P. Perreault, I. Topisirovic, and S. Richard. 2015. Aven recognition of RNA G-quadruplexes regulates translation of the mixed lineage leukemiaprotooncogenes. eLife 2015;10.7554/eLife.06234

Calibretta, S and S. Richard. 2015. Emerging roles of disordered sequences in RNA-binding proteins. Trends BiochemSci 40:662-72
Snapshot
Stéphane Richard is an internationally recognized expert in the fields of cancer and neuroscience. His research is aimed at understanding the roles of protein arginine methylation and RNA binding proteins in diseases such as cancer and multiple sclerosis.
 
Dr. Richard's group is actively pursing the molecular roles of protein methylation and RNA binding proteins in epigenetics, RNA metabolism, and DNA damage signaling.
 
 
Important Links
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 24470
courriel
 
Stéphane Richard, Ph.D., chercheur national du FRQS
 
Codirecteur, Institut Lady Davis
Professeur titulaire de la chaire James McGill en médecine et en oncologie, Université McGill


Le Dr Stéphane Richard, Ph.D., chercheur national du FRQS, est professeur titulaire de la chaire James McGill en médecine et en oncologie à l'Université McGill et codirecteur de la recherche à l'Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales de l'Hôpital général juif de Montréal.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Le Dr Richard cherche à élucider le rôle de la méthylation de l'arginine en épigénétique et la signalisation des dommages à l'ADN (voir Mol Cell 18 : 263, 2005). Le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont conçu des réactifs clés qui leur ont permis d'étudier l'étendue du phénomène de méthylation de l'arginine (Mol Cell Proteomic 2 : 1319, 2003). Dans une étude de protéomique, ils ont identifié plus de 200 protéines méthylées, alors qu'il y avait seulement 20 protéines connues à ce moment. Ces résultats ont démontré que la méthylation de l'arginine était une modification post-translationnelle courante ce qui a mené à une augmentation de la visibilité de la méthylation des protéines.

Le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont démontré que les protéines impliquées dans la réparation de l'ADN endommagé étaient méthylées (Genes&Dev 19:671, 2005). Ils ont aussi démontré que la méthylation de ces protéines clés en matière de dommages à l'ADN était essentielle à leur fonctionnement et afin de maintenir la stabilité du génome (Mol $ Cell Biol 29 : 2982, 2009). Ces résultats ont des conséquences quant au traitement du cancer puisque les inhibiteurs de la méthyltransférase de l'arginine peuvent agir en synergie avec des substances chimiotoxiques et augmenter ainsi l'efficacité du traitement. Ils ont aussi découvert que la méthylation de l'arginine pouvait réguler la localisation sous-cellulaire des protéines (Mol Biol Cell 14 : 274, 2003), les interactions protéine - protéine (J Biol Chem 275 : 16030, 2000) et l'épissage de l'ARNm (J Cell Biol 159 : 957, 2002). Ils ont aussi identifié un sous-ensemble de protéines de signalisation associées aux protéines méthylées à l'arginine (J Biol Chem 280 : 28476, 2005). Ils cherchent présentement à définir le rôle de la méthylation de l'arginine dans le contrôle de l'expression génique et le maintien de la stabilité génomique.

Le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont décrit une nouvelle cascade de signalisation qui transmet des signaux du milieu extracellulaire vers la protéine de liaison de l'ARN Sam68. Cette voie permet à la cellule de modifier rapidement le métabolisme de son ARN en réponse aux signaux externes (Mol & Cell Biol 15 : 186, 1995). Le groupe du Dr Richard a élucidé les mécanismes moléculaires par lesquels Sam68 envoyait des signaux à l'intérieur de la cellule. Ils ont démontré que Sam68 se déplaçait du noyau vers la membrane plasmatique pour se lier aux kinases Src en réponse à des signaux extracellulaires spécifiques, devenant ainsi une protéine adaptatrice pour les tyrosines kinases locales telles que la famille des kinases Src (Mol & Cell Biol 29 : 1933, 2009). Ces travaux ont permis de découvrir une nouvelle propriété des protéines de liaison à l'ARN en tant que protéines adaptatrices et d'expliquer comment Sam68 pouvait rapidement lier l'environnement externe à la transduction du signal intracellulaire. Le laboratoire du Dr Richard a aussi démontré que Sam68 ciblait une nouvelle structure nucléaire, appelée le corps nucléaire Sam68, présente seulement dans les cellules cancéreuses et pouvant potentiellement réguler le métabolisme de l'ARN nucléaire (Mol Biol Cell 10 : 3015, 1999).

Dans les études chez des souris dépourvues du gène Sam68, le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont démontré que la signalisation Sam68 était essentielle pour le développement cérébral normal (Behav Brain Res 189 : 357, 2008; PLoS Genet e74, 2005), le maintien de la masse osseuse (PLoS Genet e74, 2005) et la spermatogenèse (J Cell Biol 185 : 235, 2009) et contribuait à la protection contre le cancer du sein (Oncogene 27 : 548, 2008). Ces résultats ont des conséquences importantes quant au rôle de cette protéine de liaison à l'ARN dans des maladies humaines génétiquement complexes. Le Dr Richard et ses collègues cherchent à définir le rôle moléculaire et cellulaire de Sam68 dans les maladies métaboliques et le cancer.

Le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont démontré que QKI était essentiel à la myélinisation normale du système nerveux central puisque les mutations du gène QKI chez des souris, altérait son expression chez les oligodendrocytes et menait à des phénotypes de souris trembleuses viables. Ils ont démontré que ces souris présentaient une anomalie dans l'expression de QKI, chez les oligodendrocytes, au moment de la myélinisation du système nerveux central (Neuron 36 : 815, 2002; Nature Neurosci 8 : 27, 2005). Ces recherches sur le QKI ont offert une nouvelle perspective sur les protéines de liaison de l'ARN dans la physiologie des oligodendrocytes (Trends Genet 24 : 416, 2008).

Le Dr Richard et ses collègues ont déclaré avoir identifié des gènes liés au QKI dans le génome en entier (Nat Struct Mol Biol 12 : 691, 2005). Plus de 100 cibles dans l'ARN ont été découvertes comme liant QKI au processus de myélinisation ce qui a permis d'établir un nouveau rôle pour le QKI dans le traitement du cancer. Le Dr Richard et ses collègues cherchent présentement à définir les cibles moléculaires régulées par les protéines de liaison de l'ARN QKI dans les cellules normales et pathologiques.


Publications récentes
 
Darbelli L and S. Richard. 2016. Emerging functions of the Quaking RNA binding proteins and link to human diseases. WIREs RNA 2016 Mar 14. doi: 10.1002/wrna.1344

Neault M, F.A. Mallette and S. Richard. 2016. miR-137 modulates a tumour suppressor network inducing senescence in pancreatic cancer cells. Cell Reports 14:1966-78

Blanc RS, G. Vogel, C. Crist and S. Richard. 2016. PRMT7 preserves satellite cell regeneration capacity. Cell Reports 14:1528-39

Darbelli, L, G. Vogel, G. Almazan and S. Richard. 2016. Quaking regulates neurofascin 155 expression for myelin and axoglial junction maintenance. J Neurosci 36:4106-20

Thandapani, P./J. Song, V. Gandin, Y. Cai, S. G. Rouleau, , J.-M. Garant, F.-M. Boisvert, Z. Yu, J.-P. Perreault, I. Topisirovic, and S. Richard. 2015. Aven recognition of RNA G-quadruplexes regulates translation of the mixed lineage leukemiaprotooncogenes. eLife 2015;10.7554/eLife.06234

Calibretta, S and S. Richard. 2015. Emerging roles of disordered sequences in RNA-binding proteins. Trends BiochemSci 40:662-72.

Stéphane Richard est un expert de renommée internationale dans le domaine du cancer et des neurosciences. Ses recherches visent à mieux comprendre le rôle de la méthylation de l'arginine et des protéines de liaison de l'ARN dans des maladies telles que le cancer et la sclérose en plaques.

Le groupe du Dr Richard cherche présentement à découvrir le rôle de la méthylation des protéines et les protéines de liaison de l'ARN dans l'épigénétique, le métabolisme de l'ARN et la signalisation des dommages à l'ADN.

 
 
 
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital