Dr. Stephanie Lehoux
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, McGill University
Member, Division of Experimental Medicine, McGill University
 
Dr. Lehoux's Publications Indexed on PubMed

Dr. Stephanie Lehoux is an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at McGill University and a member of the Division of Experimental Medicine. She received her doctorate in Pharmacology from the University of Sherbrooke in 1997, followed by two post-doctoral fellowships at the Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (France) and at the University of Rochester (New York). In 2001, she was recruited by the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (France), first as a Chargée de recherches, and more recently as Directeur de recherches. She established her laboratory studies on the molecular mechanisms associated with vascular mechanotransduction (the signal transduction cascades stimulated by changes in blood pressure or blood flow).

Dr. Lehoux joined McGill University in 2007 as the Canada Research Chair in Cardiovascular Physiology. She is a member of the editorial board of the journal Atherosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology, and a member of the scientific advisory boards of both the International Symposium on Biomechanics in Cardiovascular Disease and the International Academy of Cardiology.

Major Research Activities

Dr Lehoux’s research is aimed at understanding the factors that favour atherosclerotic lesion formation and progression. She is particularly interested in defining how endothelial dysfunction and immunomodulatory mechanisms interact, and how they relate to the hemodynamic environment of the plaque. Dr Lehoux’s experimental approach is multidisciplinary, combining molecular biology, biochemical, and physiological and histological techniques in a morphological and functional analysis of vascular biology. She has established a number of original tools and techniques that are used in in vivo, ex vivo and in vitro experiments. The major research themes of her laboratory are the following:
1) defining the molecular mechanisms that govern angiotensin AT1 receptor expression and function in the endothelium, including its role as a potential mechanosensor;
2) understanding how flow prevents the progression of atherosclerosis, and how it interferes with inflammatory cells and processes within the plaque, leading to plaque regression; and
3) elucidating the mechanisms that underlie vascular remodelling, including the regulation of gene expression in the context of restenosis.

Recent Publications

Lemarie CA, Tharaux PL, Lehoux S. Extracellular matrix alterations in hypertensive vascular remodeling. J Mol Cell Cardiol. 2010, 48: 433-439.

Ramkhelawon B, Vilar J, Rivas D, Mees B, De Crom R, Tedgui A, Lehoux S. Shear stress regulates angiotensin type one receptor expression in endothelial cells. Circ Res. 2009, 105: 869-875.

Castier Y, Ramkhelawon B, Riou S, Tedgui A, Lehoux S. Role of NFkappaB in flow-induced vascular remodeling. Antioxid Redox Signal. 2009, 11: 1641-1649.

Snapshot

Dr Lehoux is an expert in vascular physiology. She is known internationally for her work on mechanotransduction. She has developed a successful research program based on unique models that have been key in elucidating the molecular mechanisms of vascular remodelling. Her current studies focus on atherosclerosis, progression from plaque development to plaque regression, and restenosis. Gene and protein expression, signalling cascades, cell interactions and whole tissue responses are considered in her multidisciplinary approach.

 
 
Important Links
Dr. Lehoux's Profile at the Division of Experimental Medicine, McGill University
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Dre Stephanie Lehoux
Professeure agrégée, Département de médecine, Université McGill  
Membre de la Division de la médecine expérimentale, Université McGill
 
La Dre Stéphanie Lehoux est professeure agrégée au Département de médecine de l'Université McGill et membre de la Division de la médecine expérimentale. Elle a obtenu son doctorat en pharmacologie à l'Université de Sherbrooke, en 1997, puis a complété deux formations postdoctorales : une à l'Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (France) et l’autre à l'Université de Rochester (New York). En 2001, elle a été recrutée par le Centre national de la recherche scientifique (France) comme chargée de recherches et, plus récemment, a été promue directrice de la recherche. Elle a établi son laboratoire sur l’étude des mécanismes moléculaires associés à la mécanotransduction vasculaire (les cascades de signalisation stimulées par des changements dans la pression ou le flux sanguin).

La Dre Lehoux a été embauchée par l'Université McGill, en 2007, comme titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en physiologie cardiovasculaire. Elle est membre du comité de rédaction de la revue Atherosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology, ainsi que du comité consultatif scientifique de l’International Symposium on Biomechanics in Cardiovascular Disease et de l'International Academy of Cardiology.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Les recherches de la Dre Lehoux visent à mieux comprenDre les facteurs qui favorisent la formation et la progression de lésions athéroscléromateuses. Elle cherche particulièrement à définir comment la dysfonction endothéliale et les mécanismes immunomodulateurs interagissent ensemble et leur influence sur l'environnement hémodynamique de la plaque. L’approche expérimentale de la Dre Lehoux est multidisciplinaire, combinant la biologie moléculaire, la biochimie et les techniques physiologiques et histologiques pour procéder à une analyse morphologique et fonctionnelle de la biologie vasculaire. Elle a conçu un bon nombre d'outils et de techniques novatrices utilisés dans des expériences in vivo, ex vivo et in vitro.

Les grands thèmes de recherche de son laboratoire sont les suivants:
1) définir les mécanismes moléculaires qui régissent l'expression des récepteurs AT1 de l'angiotensine et leur rôle dans l'endothélium, y compris en tant que mécanosenseurs potentiels;
2) comprenDre comment la contrainte de cisaillement due au flux sanguin empêche la progression de l'athérosclérose et comment elle influence les processus inflammatoires au sein de la plaque, conduisant à la régression de plaque, et
3) élucider les mécanismes qui sous-tendent le remodelage vasculaire, y compris la régulation de l'expression des gènes dans le contexte de la resténose.
 
Publications récentes
 
Lemarie CA, Tharaux PL, Lehoux S. Extracellular matrix alterations in hypertensive vascular remodeling. J Mol Cell Cardiol. 2010, 48: 433-439.

Ramkhelawon B, Vilar J, Rivas D, Mees B, De Crom R, Tedgui A, Lehoux S. Shear stress regulates angiotensin type one receptor expression in endothelial cells. Circ Res. 2009, 105: 869-875.

Castier Y, Ramkhelawon B, Riou S, Tedgui A, Lehoux S. Role of NFkappaB in flow-induced vascular remodeling. Antioxid Redox Signal. 2009, 11: 1641-1649.


La Dre Lehoux est une experte en physiologie vasculaire. Elle est connue internationalement pour ses travaux sur la mécanotransduction.

Elle a développé un programme de recherche fructueux fondé sur des modèles uniques qui ont été déterminants dans la compréhension des mécanismes moléculaires du remodelage vasculaire.

Ses études se concentrent actuellement sur l'athérosclérose, du développement de la plaque à sa régression, et la resténose. Les interactions cellulaires, les cascades de signalisation, l’expression des gènes et des protéines, ainsi que les réponses des tissus entiers sont pris en compte dans son approche multidisciplinaire.

 
 
Profil de la Dre Lehoux au Division de médecine expérimentale de l’Université McGill
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital