MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
 
Tel.: 514-340-7587
 
Or contact:
Maureen Morganstein
Tel.: 514-340-7587
Susan R. Kahn, MD, FRCPC, MSc (Epid)

Senior Investigator, Centre for Clinical Epidemiology, Lady Davis Institute
 
 
Susan Kahn is an internationally recognized researcher in venous thromboembolism. Her research activities primarily focus on the epidemiology of venous thromboembolism, specifically etiologic mechanisms and health outcomes. Peer-review funded projects that are underway include the study of long-term clinical, economic and quality of life outcomes after venous deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism, the influence of inflammation and thrombophilia on long term adverse outcomes of deep vein thrombosis, the role of exercise training to treat the post-thrombotic syndrome, and a NIH/NHLBI funded multicenter trial of pharmacomechanical catheter-directed thrombolysis to improve long term outcomes after deep vein thrombosis. She is also conducting projects to elucidate determinants of preeclampsia, a gestational vascular disorder. Dr. Kahn is a founding member of the Venous Thromboembolism Clinical Trials Organization (VECTOR), a national, collaborative research group, and has served, since 2007, as Chair of the CIHR Randomized Controlled Trials grant committee. Locally, she is Director of the Jewish General Hospital Thrombosis Program and the McGill Fellowship in Thrombosis.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Kahn is leading a number of multicenter clinical trials in long-term clinical, economic and quality of life outcomes after venous deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism, the influence of inflammation and thrombophilia on long term adverse outcomes of deep vein thrombosis, the role of exercise training to treat the post-thrombotic syndrome, and the role of compression stockings to prevent the post-thrombotic syndrome. She is a steering committee member, and chairs the Outcomes Committee, of the ATTRACT Study, a NIH/NHLBI-funded multicentre trial of pharmacomechanical catheter-directed thrombolysis to improve long term outcomes after deep vein thrombosis.

Recent Publications

Kahn SR, Shrier I, Shapiro S, Houweling AH, Hirsch AM, Reid RD, Kearon C, Rabhi K, Rodger MA, Kovacs MJ, Anderson DR, Wells PS.  Six-month exercise training program to treat the post-thrombotic syndrome: A randomized, controlled two-center trial.  CMAJ 183(1):37-44, 2011.
 

Kahn SR. How I treat the post-thrombotic syndrome. Blood 114: 4624-4631, 2009.

Kahn SR, Shrier I, Julian JA, Ducruet T, Arsenault L, Miron M-J, Roussin A, Desmarais S, Joyal F, Kassis J, Solymoss S, Desjardins L, Lamping DL, Johri M and Ginsberg JS. Determinants and time course of the thrombotic syndrome after acute deep venous thrombosis. Annals Intern Med 149: 698-707, 2008.
 
Dr. Susan Kahn is an internationally recognized researcher in the field of thromboembolism.

A focus of her work has been on developing measures and determining the health impact and societal cost of long term complications of venous thromboembolism.

Dr. Kahn is leading the development of international practice guidelines for the prevention of venous thromboembolism in hospitalized patients.

Dr. Kahn has methodological expertise in epidemiology, randomized clinical trials and systematic reviews.
 

Epidemiology of Thromboembolic Disorders Research Program

 

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

CENTRE MÉDIA    |    IMPRIMER    |     ENGLISH
   

 
 
Tel.: 514-340-7587
 
Ou contacter:
Maureen Morganstein
Tel.: 514-340-7587
Susan R. Kahn, M.D., FRCPC, M. Sc. épid.
Codirectrice de la recherche clinique, Institut Lady Davis
 
Susan Kahn est une chercheuse de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la thromboembolie veineuse. Ses activités de recherche sont principalement axées sur l’épidémiologie de la thromboembolie veineuse, particulièrement sur ses mécanismes étiologiques et sur les résultats de santé. Les projets évalués par les pairs en cours présentement et faisant l’objet de subventions comprennent : l’étude des résultats cliniques, économiques et sur la qualité de vie à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde et de l’embolie pulmonaire; l’influence de l’inflammation et de la thrombophilie sur les résultats indésirables à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde; le rôle de l’exercice physique dans le traitement du syndrome post-thrombotique et un essai clinique multicentrique financé par le NIH et le NHLBI portant sur la thrombolyse pharmacomécanique par cathéter pour améliorer les résultats à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde. Elle dirige également des projets visant à élucider les déterminants de la prééclampsie, un trouble vasculaire associé à la grossesse. La Dre Kahn est membre fondateur de la Venous Thromboembolism Clinical Trials Organization (VECTOR) [Association sur les essais cliniques relatifs à la thromboembolie veineuse], un groupe de recherche collaborative national, et siège, depuis 2007, à titre de présidente du comité d’attribution des bourses relatives aux essais cliniques aléatoires des IRSC. À l’échelle locale, elle est directrice du programme relatif à la thrombose de l’Hôpital général juif et du programme de spécialisation relative à la thrombose de l’Université McGill.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
La Dre Kahn dirige un grand nombre d’essais cliniques multicentriques sur les résultats cliniques, économiques et sur la qualité de vie à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde et de l’embolie pulmonaire, l’influence de l’inflammation et de la thrombophilie sur les résultats indésirables à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde, le rôle de l’exercice physique dans le traitement du syndrome post-thrombotique et le rôle des bas compressifs dans la prévention du syndrome post-thrombotique. Elle est membre du comité directeur et présidente du comité sur les résultats cliniques de l’étude ATTRACT, un essai clinique multicentrique financé par le NIH et le NHLBI sur la thrombolyse pharmacomécanique par cathéter pour améliorer les résultats à long terme de la thrombose veineuse profonde.
 
Publications récentes
 
Kahn SR, Shrier I, Shapiro S, Houweling AH, Hirsch AM, Reid RD, Kearon C, Rabhi K, Rodger MA, Kovacs MJ, Anderson DR, Wells PS.  Six-month exercise training program to treat the post-thrombotic syndrome: A randomized, controlled two-center trial.  CMAJ 183(1):37-44, 2011.
 

Kahn SR. How I treat the post-thrombotic syndrome. Blood 114: 4624-4631, 2009.

Kahn SR, Shrier I, Julian JA, Ducruet T, Arsenault L, Miron M-J, Roussin A, Desmarais S, Joyal F, Kassis J, Solymoss S, Desjardins L, Lamping DL, Johri M and Ginsberg JS. Determinants and time course of the thrombotic syndrome after acute deep venous thrombosis. Annals Intern Med 149: 698-707, 2008.
 
 

La Dre Susan Kahn est une chercheuse de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la thromboembolie.

Ses travaux sont axés sur l’élaboration d’indicateurs et la détermination des conséquences sur la santé et des coûts sociétaires relatifs aux complications à long terme de la thromboembolie veineuse.

La Dre Kahn dirige l’élaboration de lignes directrices internationales pour la pratique clinique en matière de prévention de la thromboembolie veineuse chez les patients hospitalisés.

La Dre Kahn possède une expertise méthodologique en épidémiologie, ainsi que dans le domaine des essais cliniques aléatoires et des analyses systématiques.

 
 
Publications de la Dre Kahn indexées dans PubMed

Programme de recherche en épidémiologie des troubles thromboemboliques

 
 

© 2010 Institut Lady Davis/Hôpital général juif. Tous droits réservés.
Réalisé par Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Plan du site | Avertissement