Tel.: 514-340-3213
 

Dr. William D. Foulkes

Head, Cancer Genetics Laboratory, Lady Davis Institute
Director of the Program in Cancer Genetics, McGill University
 
 

Dr. Will Foulkes is Director of the Program in Cancer Genetics, based at McGill University in the Departments of Oncology and Human Genetics. He is also head of the Cancer Genetics Laboratory at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research. He is a James McGill Professor of Medicine, Human Genetics and Oncology at McGill University, and holds a FRSQ Chercheur national award. His work has focused on inherited susceptibility to cancer, mainly of the breast and colorectum. He is a clinician, who has been in charge of clinical cancer genetics at all McGill-affiliated hospitals since 1996.

He is best known for his work on the clinico-pathological features of hereditary breast cancer, for his discovery of a founder mutation in MSH2 in the Ashkenazim, and for his identification of a founder mutation in the breast cancer susceptibility gene PALB2. He has also collaborated extensively with researchers around the world to better understand the genetics of breast, colorectal, prostate, pancreatic, and ovarian cancer.

He has been the scientific organizer of the Montreal-based biennial Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer conference since its inception in 2005. At the last conference, over 400 attended the three-day meeting.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Foulkes’ lab works on several aspects of inherited susceptibility to cancer, often generating data from individuals and families that present at his clinic. He is particularly interested in following up single families with unusual phenotypes. He is currently working on susceptibility to breast, colon, and ovarian neoplasms.

Recent Publications

Foulkes WD. Inherited susceptibility to common cancers. N Engl J Med. 2008 Nov 13;359(20):2143-53.

Chong G, Jarry J, Marcus V, Thiffault I, Winocour S, Monczak Y, Drouin R, Latreille J, Australie K, Bapat B, Gordon PH, Giguère Y, Gologan A, Galiatsatos P, Jass JR, Wong N, Zaor S, Palma L, Kasprzak L, Tischkowitz M, Foulkes WD. High frequency of exon deletions and putative founder effects in French Canadian Lynch syndrome families. Hum Mutat. 2009 Aug;30(8):E797-812.

Li L, Biswas K, Habib LA, Kuznetsov SG, Hamel N, Kirchhoff T, Wong N, Armel S, Chong G, Narod SA, Claes K, Offit K, Robson ME, Stauffer S, Sharan SK, Foulkes WD. Functional redundancy of exon 12 of BRCA2 revealed by a comprehensive analysis of the c.6853A>G (p.I2285V) variant. Hum Mutat. 2009 Nov;30(11):1543-50.

Snapshot

Dr. Will Foulkes is a well-known clinician-scientist who has made significant contributions in the field of inherited susceptibility to cancer.

His group identified the first Ashkenazi Jewish founder mutation in a Lynch syndrome gene.

His group helped to characterize BRCA1-related breast cancer as “basal-like."

His current focus is on identifying novel cancer susceptibility genes.

He has been co-organiser of the biennial HBOC conference since its inception in 2005.

 
 
Important Links

McGill Program in Cancer Genetics
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-3213
william.foulkes@mcgill.ca
Dr William D. Foulkes
Chef du laboratoire de génétique relative au cancer, Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales
Directeur du Programme de génétique du cancer, Université McGill
 
Le Dr Will Foulkes est directeur du Programme de génétique du cancer situé à l’Université McGill, dans les départements d’oncologie et de génétique humaine. Il dirige aussi le laboratoire de génétique relative au cancer de l’Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales. Il est professeur titulaire de la chaire James McGill en médecine, en génétique humaine et en oncologie de l’Université McGill et détient le prix de chercheur national du FRSQ. Ses travaux ont mis l’accent sur le caractère héréditaire du cancer, particulièrement le cancer du sein et colorectal. Il est clinicien et responsable de la génétique clinique relative au cancer dans les hôpitaux affiliés à l’Université McGill, depuis 1996.

Il est mieux connu pour ses travaux portant sur les caractéristiques clinicopathologiques du cancer du sein héréditaire, pour la découverte d’une mutation fondatrice dans le MSH2 chez les Ashkénazes et pour l’identification d’une mutation fondatrice dans le gène de prédisposition au cancer du sein PALB2. Il a aussi amplement collaboré avec des chercheurs de partout dans le monde dans le but de mieux comprenDre la génétique relative au cancer du sein, colorectal, de la prostate, pancréatique et ovarien.

Il est l’organisateur scientifique de la conférence montréalaise biannuelle sur le cancer héréditaire du sein et des ovaires, depuis ses débuts, en 2005. Lors de la dernière conférence, plus de 400 personnes ont participé à la rencontre de trois jours.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Le laboratoire du Dr Foulkes travaille sur différents aspects de la prédisposition héréditaire au cancer, produisant souvent des données à partir des personnes et familles se présentant à sa clinique. Il s’intéresse particulièrement au suivi de familles uniques présentant des phénotypes inhabituels. Il travaille présentement sur la prédisposition au cancer du sein, du côlon et des ovaires.
 
Publications récentes
 
Foulkes WD. Inherited susceptibility to common cancers. N Engl J Med. 2008 Nov 13;359(20):2143-53.

Chong G, Jarry J, Marcus V, Thiffault I, Winocour S, Monczak Y, Drouin R, Latreille J, Australie K, Bapat B, Gordon PH, Giguère Y, Gologan A, Galiatsatos P, Jass JR, Wong N, Zaor S, Palma L, Kasprzak L, Tischkowitz M, Foulkes WD. High frequency of exon deletions and putative founder effects in French Canadian Lynch syndrome families. Hum Mutat. 2009 Aug;30(8):E797-812.

Li L, Biswas K, Habib LA, Kuznetsov SG, Hamel N, Kirchhoff T, Wong N, Armel S, Chong G, Narod SA, Claes K, Offit K, Robson ME, Stauffer S, Sharan SK, Foulkes WD. Functional redundancy of exon 12 of BRCA2 revealed by a comprehensive analysis of the c.6853A>G (p.I2285V) variant. Hum Mutat. 2009 Nov;30(11):1543-50. 

Le Dr Will Foulkes est un chercheur clinicien très connu pour sa contribution au domaine de la prédisposition héréditaire au cancer.

Son groupe a identifié la première mutation fondatrice chez les Juifs Ashkénazes dans un gène associé au syndrome de Lynch.

Son groupe a contribué à caractériser le cancer du sein relatif au BRCA1 comme étant à cellules basales.

Actuellement, il s’attarde à identifier de nouveaux gènes augmentant la prédisposition au cancer.

Il est coorganisateur de la conférence biannuelle sur le cancer héréditaire du sein et des ovaires, depuis ses débuts, en 2005.
 
 
Publications du Dr Foulkes indexées dans PubMed

Programme de McGill sur la génétique relative au cancer
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital