Dr. Zeev Rosberger
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Director, Psychology Division, Jewish General Hospital
Director, Louise Granofsky Psychosocial Oncology Program, Segal Cancer Centre, Jewish General Hospital
Director, McGill Psychosocial Oncology Program, Department of Oncology, McGill University
Associate Professor, Departments of Oncology, Psychiatry and Psychology, McGill University
 
 
Dr. Rosberger is the Director of the Psychology Division at the Jewish General Hospital, which provides exemplary clinical care to patients and their families. From 2004-2006, he was President of the Canadian Association of Psychosocial Oncology. He has led the development of the Louise Granofsky-Psychosocial Oncology Program in the Segal Cancer Centre of the Jewish General Hospital and he has participated on numerous provincial and national committees advocating for improvement of the emotional care for cancer patients and their families. He is also Senior Investigator at the Lady Davis Institute at the Jewish General Hospital; and Associate Professor, Departments of Psychology, Psychiatry and Oncology, McGill University.
 
Major Research Activities
 
Dr. Rosberger is a leading researcher in clinical health psychology, with over 38 years of experience and expertise, mostly in the area of psychosocial oncology. His current research focus is on the prevention of Human Papillomavirus (HPV), a sexually transmitted infection, and related diseases (e.g., cervical cancer, penile cancer, genital warts, oropharyngeal cancer). His studies examine psychosocial correlates and predictors of Pap screening, HPV testing, and uptake of the HPV vaccine in several populations. In particular, he is investigating HPV vaccine decision-making in young adults who are at high risk for infection, as well as parents of young boys and girls who must decide whether or not to vaccinate their children. He has additional collaborative, research interests that span the cancer trajectory from prevention to survivorship issues, including recurrence. Specific studies include: infertility distress in young male cancer patients, melanoma prevention, and psychosocial and coping concerns in adolescents and young adults with cancer. He is a principle investigator and co-investigator on several on-going CIHR and FRSQ grants with researchers from multiple disciplines.

Other research interests include psychosocial factors in sexually transmitted infections and cancer prevention (HPV); quality of life; psychosocial oncology; the psychosocial impact of diagnostic and treatment interventions in cancer populations (e.g., chemotherapy-induced infertility in men, brachytherapy for rectal cancer, breast biopsy); distress and coping in cancer patients.
 
Recent Publications

Zimet, G., Rosberger, Z., Fisher, W.A., Perez, S. & Stupiansky, N.W. (2013). Beliefs, behaviors and HPV vaccine: Correcting the myths and the misinformation. Preventive Medicine, In Press. DOI: 10.1016/j.ypmed.2013.05.013.

Krawczyk, A.,Stephenson, E., Perez, S., Lau, E. & Rosberger, Z.(2013). Deconstructing Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Knowledge: Objective and Perceived Knowledge in Males’ Intentions to Receive the HPV Vaccine. American Journal of Health Education, 44(1): p. 26-31.DOI:10.1080/19325037.2012.749714.

Korner, A., Drapeau, M., Thombs, B., Rosberger, Z., Wang, B., Khanna, M., et al.(2013). Barriers and facilitators of adherence to medical advice on skin self-examination during melanoma follow-up care. BMC Dermatology, 13(1): p. 3. DOI: 10.1186/1471-5945-13-3.
Snapshot
Dr. Rosberger has been continuously funded for research in psychosocial oncology studies that span the entire cancer trajectory – from population risk and prevention, through survivorship and recurrence phases.
 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

zeev.rosberger@mcgill.ca
Dr Zeev Rosberger
Directeur de la Division de psychologie, Hôpital général juif
Directeur du Programme d’oncologie psychosociale Louise Granofsky, Centre du cancer Segal, Hôpital général juif
Directeur du Programme d’oncologie psychosociale de l’Université McGill, Département d’oncologie, Université McGill
Professeur agrégé, départements d’oncologie, de psychiatrie et de psychologie, Université McGill
 
Le Dr Rosberger est directeur de la Division de psychologie de l'Hôpital général juif, division qui prodigue des soins exemplaires aux patients et à leurs proches. De 2004 à 2006, il a été président de l'Association canadienne d'oncologie psychosociale. Il a dirigé le développement du Programme d'oncologie psychosociale Louise Granofsky du Centre du cancer Segal de l'Hôpital général juif et il a participé à de nombreux comité provinciaux et nationaux plaidant pour une amélioration des soins affectifs offerts aux patients atteints de cancer et à leurs proches. Il est aussi chercheur chevronné à l'Institut Lady Davis de l'Hôpital général juif et professeur agrégé aux départements de psychologie, de psychiatrie et d'oncologie de l'Université McGill.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Le Dr Rosberger est un éminent chercheur dans le domaine de la psychologie clinique de la santé, avec plus de 38 années d'expérience et d'expertise principalement dans le domaine de l'oncologie psychosociale. Ses recherches actuelles sont axées sur la prévention de la transmission du virus du papillome humain (VPH), une infection transmissible sexuellement, et des maladies connexes (ex. : le cancer du col de l'utérus, le cancer du pénis, les verrues génitales, le cancer de l'oropharynx). Ses études s'intéressent aux corrélats et aux prédicteurs psychosociaux du dépistage Pap, du dépistage du VPH et de l'absorption du vaccin contre le VPH dans différentes populations. En particulier, il étudie la prise de décisions en matière de vaccination contre le VPH chez les jeunes adultes qui sont à haut risque d'infection, ainsi que les parents de jeunes garçons et de jeunes filles qui doivent décider ou non de vacciner leurs enfants. Il a aussi d'autres intérêts de recherche collaborative qui couvrent l'ensemble de la trajectoire du cancer, de la prévention aux questions de survie, y compris la récurrence. Ses études spécifiques comprennent la détresse en matière d'infertilité chez de jeunes patients atteints de cancer, la prévention du mélanome et les préoccupations en matière de problèmes psychosociaux et d'adaptation chez des adolescents et des jeunes adultes atteints de cancer. Il est le chercheur principal et cochercheur dans le cadre de plusieurs projets subventionnés par les IRSC et le FRQS avec des chercheurs de plusieurs disciplines.

Ses autres intérêts de recherche comprennent les facteurs psychosociaux en rapport avec les infections transmises sexuellement et la prévention du cancer (VPH), la qualité de vie, l'oncologie psychosociale, l'impact psychosocial du diagnostic et des interventions thérapeutiques chez les personnes atteintes de cancer (ex. : l'infertilité provoquée par la chimiothérapie chez les hommes, la curiethérapie contre le cancer du rectum, la biopsie du sein) et la détresse et l'adaptation des patients atteints de cancer.
 
Publications récentes 
 
Zimet, G., Rosberger, Z., Fisher, W.A., Perez, S. & Stupiansky, N.W. (2013). Beliefs, behaviors and HPV vaccine: Correcting the myths and the misinformation. Preventive Medicine, In Press. DOI: 10.1016/j.ypmed.2013.05.013.

Krawczyk, A.,Stephenson, E., Perez, S., Lau, E. & Rosberger, Z.(2013). Deconstructing Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Knowledge: Objective and Perceived Knowledge in Males’ Intentions to Receive the HPV Vaccine. American Journal of Health Education, 44(1): p. 26-31.DOI:10.1080/19325037.2012.749714.

Korner, A., Drapeau, M., Thombs, B., Rosberger, Z., Wang, B., Khanna, M., et al.(2013). Barriers and facilitators of adherence to medical advice on skin self-examination during melanoma follow-up care. BMC Dermatology, 13(1): p. 3. DOI: 10.1186/1471-5945-13-3. 

Le Dr Rosberger a constamment obtenu des subventions de recherche pour des études en oncologie psychosociale qui s’étendent sur toute la trajectoire du cancer : de la prévention des risques, en passant par la survie, jusqu’aux phases de récurrence.

Il est membre du Comité consultatif sur la recherche (CCR) de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Il a été président de l’Association canadienne d’oncologie psychosociale (2003 à 2005) et a présidé deux rencontres annuelles de l’ACOP à Montréal (1996 et 2006).

 
 

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital