Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 25112
brett.thombs@mcgill.ca
Dr. Brett D. Thombs
 
Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute, Jewish General Hospital
Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University
 
 
Dr. Thombs is a Senior Investigator in the Division of Psychiatry Research and an Associate Member of the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Jewish General Hospital. He is a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine, McGill University, Department of Psychiatry, with Associate Memberships in the Departments of Medicine; Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health; Psychology; Educational and Counselling Psychology; and the Biomedical Ethics Unit.

Dr. Thombs has authored more than 300 articles, including more than 270 peer-reviewed articles. He is the principal investigator or a co-investigator on numerous grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Fonds de la recherche Québec - santé (FRQ-S), the US National Institutes of Health (NIH), and private organizations, including the Arthritis Society, Scleroderma Canada, and provincial scleroderma patient organizations.

Awards that Dr. Thombs or teams he has led have received in recognition of the team’s work include the Cochrane Collaboration’s Bill Silverman Prize, the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine’s Research Award, the Association of Rheumatology Health Professional’s Distinguished Scholar Award, Researcher Salary Awards (Junior I, Junior II, Senior) from the FRQ-S, an Arthritis Society Salary Award, the Jewish General Hospital Award for Excellence in Clinical Research, the Canadian Psychological Association Health Psychology Section Early Career Award, the Canadian Psychological Association’s President’s New Researcher Award, an American College of Rheumatology Research and Education Foundation Health Professional Investigator Award, and a CIHR New Investigator Award, Dr. Thombs was the lead author of an international team that published an article on depression screening in cardiovascular care settings, which was a finalist for the 2009 BMJ Group Research Paper of the Year Award. In 2014, he was one of two recipients of the inaugural version of the McGill Principal’s Prize for Outstanding Emerging Researchers, which is awarded to McGill’s top investigators within 10 years of their highest degree from any of its 13 faculties and schools. Dr. Thombs is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and a Member of the College of the Royal Society of Canada.


Major Research Activities
 
Dr. Thombs is internationally known for his work for (1) developing, testing, and disseminating educational, self-management, rehabilitation, and psychological interventions for people living with the rare autoimmune disease scleroderma; (2) his work on depression screening and the evaluation of depression screening tools; and (3) meta-research, which involves examining how the design, conduct and reporting of medical research may lead to bias. Dr. Thombs is Chair of the Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care, Director of the Scleroderma Patient-centered Intervention Network (SPIN) and Director of the DEPRESsion Screening Data (DEPRESSD) Project.
 
Recent Publications
 
Thombs BD, Turner KA, Shrier I. Defining and evaluating overdiagnosis in mental health: a meta-research review. Psychother Psychosom. 2019;88(4):193-202.

Azar M, Riehm K, Saadat N, Sanchez T, Chiovitti M, Qi L, Rice DB, Levis B, Fedoruk C, Levis AW, Kloda LA, Kimmelman J, Benedetti A, Thombs BD. Journal registration policies and association with prospective registration in published randomized trials of non-regulated healthcare Interventions: a cross-sectional study. JAMA Intern Med. 2019;179(5):624-632.

Levis B, Benedetti A, Thombs BD, DEPRESsion Screening Data (DEPRESSD) Collaboration. The diagnostic accuracy of the Patient Health Questionnaire-9 (PHQ-9) for detecting major depression: an individual participant data meta-analysis. BMJ. 2019;365:l1476.

Thombs BD, Kwakkenbos L, Levis AW, Benedetti A. Addressing overestimation of the prevalence of depression prevalence based on self-report screening questionnaires. CMAJ. 2018;190:E44-49.
Snapshot
Dr. Brett Thombs is an internationally recognized investigator in the area of behavioural health research in chronic disease.

He is well known for his work on depression screening, including evidence-based critiques of current recommendations.

An important part of his work is directed at improving psychological health and well-being among persons living with systemic sclerosis.

Dr. Thombs is also known for his work on depression in cardiovascular disease.
 
 
Important Links
Thombs Research Team
 

Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222, poste 25112
 
Dr Brett D. Thombs
 
Professeur, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill
Chercheur chevronné, Institut Lady Davis


Le Dr Thombs est chercheur chevronné au sein de la Division de la recherche psychiatrique et membre associé du Centre d’épidémiologie clinique et de recherche en santé publique de l’Institut Lady Davis pour la recherche médicale de l’Hôpital général juif. Il est professeur au Département de psychiatrie de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill et membre associé des départements de médecine, d’épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de santé au travail, de psychologie, de psychopédagogie et psychologie du counseling et de l’unité d’éthique biomédicale.

Le docteur Thombs est l’auteur de plus de 300 articles, dont plus de 270 articles évalués par des pairs. Il est chercheur principal ou cochercheur dans de nombreuses subventions provenant des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et du Fonds de recherche du Québec — Santé (FRQ-S), des National Institutes of Health (NIH) des États-Unis et d’organismes privés comme la Société de l’arthrite, Sclérodermie Canada et des associations provinciales de patients atteints de sclérodermie.

Parmi les prix et les distinctions remises au docteur Thombs ou aux équipes qu’il a dirigées, en reconnaissance de leurs travaux, on retrouve le prix Bill Silverman de la Cochrane Collaboration, la bourse de recherche de l’Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine, le prix de chercheur éminent de l’Association of Rheumatology Health Professional, les bourses salariales aux chercheurs (Junior 1, Junior 2, Senior) du FRQ-S, une bourse salariale de la Société de l’arthrite, le prix d’excellence en recherche clinique de l’Hôpital général juif, la bourse de début de carrière de la Division de psychologie de la santé de l’Association canadienne de psychologie, le Prix de nouveau chercheur de la Société canadienne de psychologie, une bourse de chercheur - professionnel de la santé de la Research and Education Foundation de l’American College of Rheumatology et une bourse de nouveau chercheur des IRSC. Le docteur Thombs était l’auteur principal au sein d’une équipe internationale qui a publié un article sur le dépistage de la dépression dans les milieux de soins cardiovasculaires et qui a été finaliste pour le prix d’article de recherche de l’année du groupe BMJ, pour l’année 2009. En 2014, il a été l’un des deux lauréats de la première mouture du Prix du recteur de l’Université McGill aux nouveaux chercheurs exceptionnels, qui est décerné aux meilleurs chercheurs de l’Université McGill, au cours de leurs dix premières années de carrière suivant l’obtention de leur plus haut diplôme, dans l’une ou l’autre de ses treize facultés et écoles. Le docteur Thombs est membre de l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé et du Collège de la Société royale du Canada.
 
 
Principales activités de recherche 
 
Le docteur Thombs est reconnu à l’échelle internationale pour ses travaux portant sur les domaines suivants : (1) la mise au point, l’évaluation et la diffusion d’interventions éducatives, d’auto prise en charge, de réadaptation et psychologiques pour les personnes vivant avec la sclérodermie, une maladie auto-immune rare; (2) le dépistage de la dépression et l’évaluation d’outils de dépistage de la dépression; et (3) les métarecherches, qui consistent à examiner comment la méthodologie, la réalisation et communication des résultats de recherche médicale peuvent entraîner des biais. Le docteur Thombs est président du Groupe d’étude canadien sur les soins de santé préventifs, directeur du Réseau d’Intervention centré sur le patient sclérodermique (SPIN) et directeur du projet DEPRESsion Screening Data (Données sur le dépistage de la dépression; DEPRESSD).




Publications récentes
 
Thombs B. D., Turner K. A. et Shrier I. Defining and evaluating overdiagnosis in mental health: a meta-research review. Psychother Psychosom. 2019; 88 (4) : 193–202.

Azar M., Riehm K., Saadat N., Sanchez T., Chiovitti M., Qi L., Rice D. B., Levis B., Fedoruk C., Levis A. W., Kloda L. A., Kimmelman J., Benedetti A. et Thombs B. D. Journal registration policies and association with prospective registration in published randomized trials of non-regulated healthcare Interventions: a cross-sectional study. JAMA Intern Med. 2019; 179 (5) : 624–632.

Levis B., Benedetti A. et Thombs B. D. DEPRESsion Screening Data (DEPRESSD) Collaboration. The diagnostic accuracy of the Patient Health Questionnaire-9 (PHQ-9) for detecting major depression: an individual participant data meta-analysis. BMJ. 2019; 365 : l1476.

Thombs B. D.*, Kwakkenbos L., Levis A. W. et Benedetti A. Addressing overestimation of the prevalence of depression prevalence based on self-report screening questionnaires. CMAJ. 2018; 190 : E44-49.

Le Dr Brett Thombs est un chercheur de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la recherche sur la santé comportementale chez les personnes atteintes de maladies chroniques.

Il est bien connu pour ses travaux relatifs au dépistage de la dépression, y compris l'analyse critique  des recommandations actuelles en fonction des données probantes.

Une part importante de ses travaux porte sur l'amélioration de la santé psychologique et du bien-être des personnes atteintes de sclérose systémique.

Le Dr Thombs est aussi connu pour ses travaux portant sur la dépression associée à la maladie cardiovasculaire.


 
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital