Tel.: 514-340-8210
 
Dr. Ashley D. Wazana
 
Investigator, Lady Davis Institute and Douglas Mental Health University Institute
Clinical Director, Early Childhood Disorders Day Hospital, Department of Psychiatry, Jewish General Hospital
Research Director (Psychiatric Phenotypes and Endophenotypes) Maternal Adversity, Vulnerability and Neurodevlopment (MAVAN) Project
Member of the Division of Social and Transcultural Psychiatry, McGill University


 
Dr. Ashley Wazana is a clinician-scientist in the Department of Psychiatry at the Jewish General Hospital. He was trained as a child psychiatrist at McGill and as an epidemiologist at Columbia University. He is the clinical co-director of the Early Childhood Disorders day hospital at the Jewish General Hospital as well as an investigator in projects at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, at the Douglas Institute of Mental Health and in international collaborations with the U.K., the Netherlands, France, Singapore and the United States.
 
Major Research Activities


Dr. Wazana is currently the Principal Investigator for an international collaboration the Developmental Research in Early Adversity Mental health BIological susceptibility and Gender (DREAM BIG) research project (www.dreambigresearch.com). This collaboration of five prenatal cohorts examines the complex interplay between children’s genetic makeup and their earliest environment (the environment in which they develop during pregnancy) in the prediction of mental illness. He is interested in how the early environment, such as parental care in the early years, stressors and social support influence this trajectory. Specifically, he aims to identify how candidate cell signalling systems in the Serotonin, Dopamine and Glucocorticoid pathways and early maternal experiences interact to modify the trajectory for anxious/depressive and ADHD psychopathology of children with prenatal adversity. Low birth weight and prenatal maternal depression are two conditions of adversity used to test competing models of (diathesis stress or differential susceptibility) using novel gene-environment modelling strategies. He is also the lead investigators for the psychiatric outcomes of Dr Michael Meaney's Maternal Adversity, Vulnerability and Neurodevelopment (MAVAN) project.

He is also leading a companion bench to bedside research program which includes the role of early child factors (environmental susceptibility and genetic profile) in the response to treatment (eg. prenatal antidepressants, systemic based therapeutic interventions). This includes collaborations with the US, in British Columbia and in Montreal across the McGill network.

He is faculty in the McGill Division of Social and Transcultural Psychiatry, which included a collaboration in the evaluation of the precarious health outcomes of children and pregnant women with precarious immigration status. He has also been extensively involved in research, teaching and policy development in the relation between physicians and the pharmaceutical industry, a domain for which he has been called to testify as an expert witness. He was a member of the Consensus Panel which developed the AACAP's recent conflict of interest guidelines.
 
Recent Publications
 
Alexia Jolicoeur-Martineau, Ashley Wazana, Eszter Székely, James L. Kennedy, Michael J. Meaney, Celia M.T. Greenwood and the MAVAN team. Alternating optimization for G×E modelling with weighted genetic and environmental scores: examples from the MAVAN study. Psychological Methods. (In press)

Gordon Green C, Babineau V, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Bouvette-Turcot A, Klaus Minde K, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Atkinson L, Kennedy JL, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Levitan R, Meaney M, Wazana A. (2017). Changes in the prediction of Negative Emotionality across the first three years of life from the interaction of prenatal stress and cumulative genetic risk from 5-HTTLPR, DRD4. Development and Psychopathology. 29(3): 901-917

Wazana A, Moss E, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Graffi J, Tsabari G, Lecompte V, Pascuzzo K, Babineau V, Gordon-Green C, Mileva V, Atkinson L, Minde K, Bouvette-Turcot AA, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Matthews S, Sokolowski M, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Steiner M, Kennedy JL, Fleming A, Levitan R, Meaney MJ. (2015). The interplay of child birth weight, dopamine D4 receptor genes and early maternal care in the prediction of disorganized attachment at 36 months of age Development and Psychopathology, 27, 1145-1161.

Babineau V, Gordon Green C, Bouvette-Turcot A, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Minde K, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Atkinson L, Kennedy JL, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Levitan R, Meaney M, Wazana A. (2015). Prenatal Depression and 5-HTTLPR Interact to Predict Dysregulation from 3 to 36 months – A differential susceptibility model. Journal of Clinical Psychology and Psychiatry. 56(1), 21-29.
 
Snapshot
Dr. Ashley Wazana is an FRSQ clinician-scientist in the field of developmental psychopathology. His CIHR funded project examine the psychiatric outcomes of children from the Maternal Adversity, Vulnerability and Neurodevelopment (MAVAN) cohort of Dr Michael Meaney. His current focus is on the role of maternal care and genotype in the modulation of risk for anxious and depressive psychopathology in preschool children with prenatal adversity. He also conducts research in the validity of clinical and research based instruments of early psychopathology, by means of international collaborations.
 
 
Important Links
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8210
ashley.wazana@mcgill.ca
 
Dr Ashley D. Wazana
Directeur clinique, Hôpital de jour sur les troubles infantiles précoces, Département de psychiatrie, Hôpital général juif
Directeur de recherche (phénotypes et endophénotypes psychiatriques), projet sur l’adversité maternelle, la vulnérabilité et le neurodéveloppement (MAVAN)
Chercheur, Institut Lady Davis et Institut Douglas
Membre de la Division de psychiatrie sociale et transculturelle, Université McGill
 
Le docteur Ashley Wazana est clinicien-chercheur au Service de psychiatrie de l’Hôpital général juif. Il a été formé en tant que pédopsychiatre à l’Université McGill et en tant qu’épidémiologiste à l’Université Columbia. Il est codirecteur clinique de l’hôpital de jour sur les troubles de la petite enfance de l’Hôpital général juif, chercheur dans le cadre de projets de recherche à l’Institut Lady Davis pour la recherche médicale et à l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas, et a des collaborations internationales avec le Royaume-Uni, les Pays-Bas, la France, Singapour et les États-Unis.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Présentement, le docteur Wazana est chercheur principal pour un projet de recherche collaborative international intitulé Developmental Research in Early Adversity, Mental health, BIological susceptibility and Gender (DREAM BIG) [Recherche développementale sur l’adversité durant la petite enfance, la santé mentale, la susceptibilité biologique et le sexe] (www.dreambigresearch.com). Cette collaboration portant sur cinq cohortes prénatales examine l’interaction complexe entre la constitution génétique des enfants et leur premier environnement (l’environnement dans lequel ils se développent au cours de la grossesse) pour prédire l’apparition de la maladie mentale. Elle s’intéresse à la façon dont l’environnement précoce, comme les soins parentaux dans les premières années, les facteurs de stress et le soutien social influencent cette trajectoire. Plus précisément, elle vise à déterminer comment les systèmes de signalisation des cellules candidates des voies sérotoninergiques, dopaminergiques et glucocorticoïdergiques et les expériences maternelles précoces interagissent pour modifier la trajectoire de la psychopathologie anxieuse ou dépressive et du TDAH chez les enfants ayant vécu une adversité prénatale. Le faible poids à la naissance et la dépression maternelle prénatale sont deux des conditions d’adversité utilisées pour tester des modèles concurrents, le modèle de diathèse-stress ou la différence de susceptibilité, en utilisant de nouvelles stratégies de modélisation de l’environnement génétique. Il est aussi chercheur en chef sur les résultats psychiatriques dans le cadre du projet du docteur Michael Meaney intitulé : Maternal Adversity, Vulnerability and Neurodevelopment (MAVAN) [Adversité maternelle, vulnérabilité et neurodéveloppement].

Il dirige également un programme de recherche complémentaire, du laboratoire au chevet, qui intègre le rôle des facteurs de la petite enfance (susceptibilité environnementale et profil génétique) dans la réponse au traitement (p. ex., les antidépresseurs prénataux, les interventions thérapeutiques systémiques). Cela comprend des collaborations avec les États-Unis, la Colombie-Britannique et Montréal dans l’ensemble du réseau de l’Université McGill.

Il est membre du corps professoral de la Division de psychiatrie sociale et transculturelle de l’Université McGill, qui comprenait une collaboration dans l’évaluation des résultats précaires sur la santé des enfants et des femmes enceintes ayant un statut d’immigration précaire. Il a aussi été très impliqué dans la recherche, l’enseignement et l’élaboration de politiques sur la relation entre les médecins et l’industrie pharmaceutique, un domaine pour lequel il a été appelé à témoigner à titre de témoin expert. Il a été membre du groupe de consensus qui a élaboré les récentes lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêts de l’AACAP.
 
Publications récentes 
 
Alexia Jolicoeur-Martineau, Ashley Wazana, Eszter Székely, James L. Kennedy, Michael J. Meaney, Celia M.T. Greenwood and the MAVAN team. Alternating optimization for G×E modelling with weighted genetic and environmental scores: examples from the MAVAN study. Psychological Methods. (In press)

Gordon Green C, Babineau V, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Bouvette-Turcot A, Klaus Minde K, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Atkinson L, Kennedy JL, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Levitan R, Meaney M, Wazana A. (2017). Changes in the prediction of Negative Emotionality across the first three years of life from the interaction of prenatal stress and cumulative genetic risk from 5-HTTLPR, DRD4. Development and Psychopathology. 29(3): 901-917

Wazana A, Moss E, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Graffi J, Tsabari G, Lecompte V, Pascuzzo K, Babineau V, Gordon-Green C, Mileva V, Atkinson L, Minde K, Bouvette-Turcot AA, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Matthews S, Sokolowski M, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Steiner M, Kennedy JL, Fleming A, Levitan R, Meaney MJ. (2015). The interplay of child birth weight, dopamine D4 receptor genes and early maternal care in the prediction of disorganized attachment at 36 months of age Development and Psychopathology, 27, 1145-1161.

Babineau V, Gordon Green C, Bouvette-Turcot A, Jolicoeur-Martineau A, Minde K, Sassi R, St-André M, Carrey N, Atkinson L, Kennedy JL, Lydon J, Gaudreau H, Levitan R, Meaney M, Wazana A. (2015). Prenatal Depression and 5-HTTLPR Interact to Predict Dysregulation from 3 to 36 months – A differential susceptibility model. Journal of Clinical Psychology and Psychiatry. 56(1), 21-29.
 

Le Dr Ashley Wazana est un chercheur clinicien du FRSQ dans le domaine de la psychopathologie développementale. Son projet, subventionné par les IRSC, examine les résultats psychiatriques chez les enfants de la cohorte sur l’adversité maternelle, la vulnérabilité et le neurodéveloppement (MAVAN) du Dr Michael Meaney. Il s’intéresse présentement au rôle des soins prodigués par la mère, et au génotype, dans la modulation du risque de psychopathologie anxieuse et dépressive chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire affectés par l’adversité prénatale. Il poursuit aussi des recherches sur la validité des outils de recherche et cliniques dans la détection d’une psychopathologie précoce, par l’entremise de collaborations internationales.

 
 

Publications du Dr Wazana indexées dans PubMed

 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital