MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 25622
 

Dr. Catherine Fichten

Senior Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Psychologist, Behavioral Psychotherapy and Research Unit, Psychiatry Department, Jewish General Hospital
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University
Co-Director, Adaptech Research Network
 

Dr. Catherine Fichten is a psychologist with a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from McGill University. She a clinical psychologist with the Behavioural Psychotherapy and Research Unit of the Department of Psychiatry of the Jewish General Hospital, an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at McGill University, and a Professor in the Department of Psychology at Dawson College. She practices as a clinical psychologist with the Behavioral Psychotherapy and Research Unit of the Institute for Community and Family Psychiatry (ICFP), and she is a senior member of the Sleep and Aging Research Team, where she does research on issues related to insomnia, sleep apnea, nonrefreshing sleep, and chronic fatigue syndrome. She co-directs the Adaptech Research Network, a bilingual multidisciplinary research team which conducts research on higher education and disability. Dr. Fichten is the recipient of the Canadian Psychological Association Award for Distinguished Contributions to Public or Community Service, the Prix Reconnaissance de l'Association pour la recherche au collégial (ARC), and the Prix de l'ARC pour Contribution au Développement de Carrières Scientifiques. She has been associated with the Jewish General Hospital since 1981.

She publishes extensively in both English and French with colleagues and students and currently holds grants from numerous provincial and federal funding agencies.

Major Research Activities

Dr. Fichten has two main areas of research. One is concerned with factors which help or hinder the participation of individuals with various disabilities in community life. She is interested, in particular, in the role that higher education and computer and information technologies can play in allowing individuals with a variety of disabilities to participate fully in the Canadian mainstream. The second concerns sleep, insomnia, and sleep related aspects of behavioural medicine and health psychology. Her work has focused on determinants and treatments of insomnia and various other primary sleep disorders and on sleep and daytime functioning in chronic fatigue syndrome.

She holds grants from the following funding organizations: Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC);
Fonds de recherche sur la société et la culture (FQRSC); St. Mary’s Hospital Center; Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR); Programme d'aide à la recherche sur l'enseignement et l'apprentissage (PAREA); and the Canada/Quebec Entente.

Recent Publications

Bailes, S., Baltzan, M., Rizzo, D., Fichten, C.S, Grad, R., Wolkove, N., Creti, L., Amsel, R., & Libman, E. (2009). Sleep disorder symptoms are common and unspoken in Canadian general practice. Family Practice, 26, 294-300. doi: 10.1093/fampra/cmp031. Selected for inclusion in Family MD.

Creti, L., Libman, E., Baltzan, M., Rizzo, D., Bailes, S., & Fichten, C. (in press).
Impaired sleep in chronic fatigue syndrome: How is it best measured? Journal of Health Psychology.

Fichten, C.S. & Libman, E. (2010). Long sleepers. In M. Thorpy and M. Billiard (Eds.).
Sleepiness: Causes, disorders, consequences and treatment. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.

Snapshot

 
 
Important Links

 

Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 25622
 
Dre Catherine Fichten
Psychologue, Unité de recherche et de psychothérapie comportementale, Département de psychiatrie, Hôpital général juif
Professeure agrégée, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill
Codirectrice, Réseau de recherche Adaptech
 
La Dre Catherine Fichten est une psychologue détenant un doctorat en psychologie clinique de l’Université McGill. Elle est psychologue clinicienne à l’Unité de recherche et de psychothérapie comportementale du Département de psychiatrie de l’Hôpital général juif, professeure agrégée au Département de psychiatrie de l’Université McGill et professeure au Département de psychologie du Collège Dawson. Elle pratique à titre de psychologue clinicienne à l’Unité de recherche et de psychothérapie comportementale de l’Institut de psychiatrie communautaire et familiale (IPCF) et est membre principal de l’équipe de recherche sur le sommeil et le vieillissement au sein de laquelle elle effectue des recherches sur les problèmes relatifs à l’insomnie, à l’apnée du sommeil, au sommeil non réparateur et au syndrome de fatigue chronique. Elle codirige le Réseau de recherche Adaptech, une équipe de recherche multidisciplinaire bilingue qui poursuit des recherches l’influence d’un haut niveau d’éducation chez les personnes ayant des incapacités. La Dre Fichten a été récipiendaire du prix pour contributions remarquables au service publique ou communautaire de la Société canadienne de psychologie, du prix Reconnaissance de l'Association pour la recherche au collégial (ARC) et du prix de l'ARC pour sa contribution au développement de carrières scientifiques. Elle est affiliée à l’Hôpital général juif depuis 1981.

Elle publie régulièrement un grand nombre d’articles en anglais et en français avec des collègues et des étudiants et reçoit présentement des subventions de nombreux organismes de financement provinciaux et fédéraux.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
La Dre Fichten a deux principaux intérêts de recherche. Le premier concerne les facteurs qui encouragent ou freinent la participation des personnes ayant différentes incapacités dans la vie communautaire. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement à la façon dont un niveau d’éducation plus élevé et les ordinateurs et technologies de l’information peuvent encourager les personnes ayant différentes incapacités à jouer un rôle actif au sein de la société canadienne. Le second concerne le sommeil, l’insomnie et les éléments de la médecine comportementale et de la psychologie de la santé en rapport avec le sommeil. Ses travaux ont mis l’accent sur les facteurs susceptibles de provoquer l’insomnie et différents autres troubles primaires du sommeil et leurs traitements, ainsi que sur le sommeil et le fonctionnement diurne de personnes atteintes de syndrome de fatigue chronique.

Elle reçoit des subventions des organismes de financement suivants : le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), le Fonds de recherche du Québec - Société et culture (FQRSC), le Centre hospitalier Saint-Mary’s, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Programme d'aide à la recherche sur l'enseignement et l'apprentissage (PAREA) et l’Entente Canada-Québec.
 
Publications récentes
 
Bailes, S., Baltzan, M., Rizzo, D., Fichten, C.S, Grad, R., Wolkove, N., Creti, L., Amsel, R., & Libman, E. (2009). Sleep disorder symptoms are common and unspoken in Canadian general practice. Family Practice, 26, 294-300. doi: 10.1093/fampra/cmp031. Selected for inclusion in Family MD.

Creti, L., Libman, E., Baltzan, M., Rizzo, D., Bailes, S., & Fichten, C. (in press).
Impaired sleep in chronic fatigue syndrome: How is it best measured? Journal of Health Psychology.

Fichten, C.S. & Libman, E. (2010). Long sleepers. In M. Thorpy and M. Billiard (Eds.).
Sleepiness: Causes, disorders, consequences and treatment. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.

Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital