MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 8397
email address

 
Dr. Celia M.T. Greenwood
Senior Scientist, Centre for Clinical Epidemiology, Lady Davis Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Oncology, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, and Division of Cancer Epidemiology, McGill University


Dr. Greenwood joined the LDI from the Hospital for Sick Children and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health in Toronto. She is a statistician with an interest in methodology for the analysis of genetic and genomic data. Her methodological work spans family studies looking for patterns of inheritance of disease-causing genes, case-control studies looking for associations between anonymous markers and disease status, gene expression studies examining differences between patient groups or tissues, and estimation of copy number variation in the genome. Some of the theoretical work developed by her students includes: a haplotype estimation algorithm using hidden Markov models, a flexible method for estimating disease-gene relationships in sparse data using Dirichlet process mixtures, and tree-based models for estimating the evidence for linkage in the presence of heterogeneity.

She led the statistical analysis team in a genome-wide association study of colorectal cancer, where a new locus was identified conferring increased risk. In the context of that study, the team proposed, and used, a novel stratified method for assessing false discovery rates, and developed a computationally-efficient method for empirically estimating large numbers of p-values for haplotype-disease associations.

Major Research Activities

For many years, Dr. Greenwood has been working on issues of data quality and measurement in genomic data, and how measures of quality can be developed and used to improve the detection of important signals in high-throughput genomic data. In particular, one focus of this research has been in data integration, where information from different experiments is combined to improve prediction performance or signal detection.

Recent Publications

Pingzhao Hu, Celia MT Greenwood, Joseph Beyene.
Using the ratio of means as the effect size measure in combining results of microarray experiments. BMC Systems Biology 2009, 3:106. doi:10.1186/1752-0509-3-106.

Babak Shahbaba, Andrew J Gentles. Joseph Beyene, Sylvia K. Plevritis, Celia M.T. Greenwood (2009). A Bayesian nonparametric method for model evaluation. Journal of Nonparametric Statistics, 21(2): 379-396.

Celia MT Greenwood, Shuying Sun, Justin Veenstra, Nancy Hamel, Bethany Niell, Stephen Gruber, William D Foulkes (2010). How old is this mutation? A study of three Ashkenazi Jewish founder mutations. BMC Genetics 11:39. 

Dr. Greenwood is a statistician working in genetics, genomics, and genetic epidemiology.

She uses a wide range of statistical approaches to improve the ability to understand how our genome, together with environmental factors, influences disease risks and disease progression.

 

Dr. Greenwood's Publications Indexed on PubMed

Cancer Epidemiology at McGill

Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health at McGill

MITACS/NCE: Statistical Modeling and Analysis of Complex Traits in Human Populations



Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 28397
courriel

 
Dre Celia M.T. Greenwood
Chercheuse chevronnée, Centre d’épidémiologie clinique, Institut Lady Davis
Professeure agrégée, Département d’oncologie, Département d’épidémiologie, de biostatistiques et de santé au travail et Division de l’épidémiologie relative au cancer, Université McGill
 
La Dre Greenwood a été embauchée à l’ILD alors qu’elle travaillait à l’Hôpital pour enfants malades et à l’École Dalla Lana en santé publique de Toronto. Elle est une statisticienne s’intéressant aux méthodes d’analyse des données issues de la génétique et de la génomique. Ses travaux méthodologiques couvrent les études familiales qui s’intéressent aux modes de transmission des gènes responsable des maladies, les études cas-témoin s’intéressant au lien entre les marqueurs anonymes de l’ADN et l’état de la maladie, les études d’expression génétique analysant les différences entre les groupes de patients ou de tissus, et l’estimation des variations dans le nombre de copies du génome. Certains des travaux théoriques élaborés par ses étudiants comprennent : un algorithme d’estimation des haplotypes à l’aide des modèles de Markov cachés, une méthode flexible permettant de définir les relations entre la maladie et les gènes dans les données peu abondantes à l’aide des mélanges de processus de Dirichlet et des modèles d’arborescence permettant d’estimer les preuves de liens entre différents éléments hétérogènes.

Elle a dirigé l’équipe d’analyse statistique dans le caDre d’une étude d’association pangénomique où un nouveau locus a été identifié comme pouvant conférer un risque accru de cancer colorectal. Dans le caDre de cette étude, l’équipe a proposé et s’est servie d’une nouvelle méthode stratifiée pour évaluer les taux de fausses découvertes et a développé une méthode informatisée efficiente permettant d’estimer de façon empirique un grand nombre de valeurs prédictives pour des associations haplotype-maladie.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Durant plusieurs années, la Dre Greenwood s’est intéressées aux problèmes de qualité des données et des mesures issues de la génomique et comment des mesures de qualité pouvaient être conçues et utilisées pour améliorer la détection de signaux importants dans les données génomiques à haut rendement. Plus particulièrement, ces recherches visaient, entre autre, l’intégration des données, où les renseignements provenant de différentes expériences étaient combinés dans le but d’améliorer la performance dans les prédictions ou la détection du signal. 
 
Publications récentes 
 
Pingzhao Hu, Celia MT Greenwood, Joseph Beyene. Using the ratio of means as the effect size measure in combining results of microarray experiments. BMC Systems Biology 2009, 3:106. doi:10.1186/1752-0509-3-106.

Babak Shahbaba, Andrew J Gentles. Joseph Beyene, Sylvia K. Plevritis, Celia M.T. Greenwood (2009). A Bayesian nonparametric method for model evaluation. Journal of Nonparametric Statistics, 21(2): 379-396.

Celia MT Greenwood, Shuying Sun, Justin Veenstra, Nancy Hamel, Bethany Niell, Stephen Gruber, William D Foulkes (2010). How old is this mutation? A study of three Ashkenazi Jewish founder mutations. BMC Genetics 11:39. 

La Dre Greenwood est une statisticienne travaillant en génétique, en génomique et en épidémiologie de la génétique. 

Elle se sert d’une vaste gamme d’approches statistiques dans le but d’améliorer notre capacité à mieux comprendre comment notre génome, de concert avec les facteurs environnementaux, influence le risque de développer une maladie et l’évolution de la maladie.

 
 

Publications de la Dre Greenwood indexées dans PubMed

Épidémiologie du cancer à l’Université McGill

Épidémiologie, biostatistiques et santé au travail à l’Université McGill

MITACS / NCE : Modélisation statistique et analyse de traits complexes chez l’humain

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital