MEDIA CENTRE    |    PRINT    |     FRANÇAIS
   

 
Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 8541
email address
 
Dr. Colin Crist
 
Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Genetics, McGill University
 

Dr. Colin Crist received his BSc from the University of British Columbia and his PhD from the University of Tokyo. He was a post-doctoral research associate in the lab of Margaret Buckingham at the Institut Pasteur (Paris, France). In 2012, he obtained a faculty appointment as an assistant professor at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research and the Department of Human Genetics at McGill University. He holds the Marjorie and Gerald Bronfman Chair in Skeletal Muscle Stem Cell research.
 
Major Research Activities
 
Skeletal muscle has a remarkable muscle stem cell dependent capacity for regeneration. Nevertheless, multiple disorders of skeletal muscle, including the family of muscular dystrophies and muscle wasting associated with aging and cancer, represent a major burden on health care systems worldwide. The development of stem cell based regenerative therapies for muscle disease has and will continue to rely heavily on knowledge about embryonic myogenesis and adult regeneration of muscle. We are addressing these challenges using techniques in molecular biology and genetics toinvestigate the molecular mechanisms regulating MuSC activity. We currently focus on translational control of MuSCs and myogenic progenitors. The major research themes of our laboratory are as follows:

1. Translational control of muscle stem cells. Adult stem cells must quickly adapt to environmental cues to activate, proliferate and must make a decision between self-renewal and differentiation. We are investigating translational control mechanisms as first responders regulating gene expression in muscle stem cells.
 
2. microRNA regulators of muscle development. During embryonic development, multipotent progenitors make a cell fate decision to enter the myogenic lineage. We are investigating microRNA contribution to this cell fate decision. We will manipulate microRNA activity to reinforce the muscle cell fate decision to efficiently derive myogenic progenitors from pluripotent stem cells.
 
3. New therapeutic approaches to muscle disease. By investigating molecular mechanisms that regulate muscle stem cell activity, we identify targetable pathways. We are currently characterizing small compounds that target these pathways towards our goal to increase the potential of muscle stem cells to regenerate muscle.
 
4. Genetic regulators of myogenesis. We are using multiple approaches to identify cofactors that facilitate the activity of transcription factors within the contexts of muscle development and disease.

Recent Publications
 
Blanc, R.S., Vogel, G., Chen, T., Crist, C*.and Richard, S*. (2016) Prmt7 preserves satellite cell regenerative capacity. Cell Reports 14, 1528-1539.

Zismanov, V. Chichkov, V., Colangelo, V., Jamet, S., Wang, S., Syme, A., Koromilas, A.E., and Crist, C. (2016) Phosphorylation of eIF2a is a translational control mechanism regulating muscle stem cell quiescence and self-renewal. Cell Stem Cell 18, 79-90.

Crist, C.G., Montarras, D. and Buckingham, M. (2012) The muscle satellite cell is primed for myogenesis, but maintains quiescence with sequestration of Myf5 mRNA targeted by microRNA-31 in mRNP granules. Cell Stem Cell 11, 118-126.

Crist, C.G., Montarras, D., Pallafacchina, G., Rocancourt, D., Cumano, A., Conway, S.J., and Buckingham, M. (2009). Muscle stem cell behaviour is modified by microRNA-27 regulation of Pax3 expression. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 106, 13383-13387. (Featured in Cell 138, 813-814)

Dr. Colin Crist studies molecular mechanisms governing skeletal muscle stem cell activity.

His current focus is on the role of microRNAs and cytoplasmic mRNP granules in maintaining tissue identity in a tissue specific stem cells that respond to cues to regenerate.

 


Copyright © 2010 Lady Davis Institute/Jewish General Hospital.
Created by Blue Lemon Media Inc.
Sitemap | Disclaimer

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 28541
colin.crist@mcgill.ca
 
Dr Colin Crist
 
Professeur adjoint, Département de génétique humaine, Université McGill
Chercheur principal, Institut Lady Davis

Le Dr Colin Crist a obtenu son baccalauréat à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et son doctorat à l'Université de Tokyo. Il a été associé de recherches postdoctorales au laboratoire de Margaret Buckingham, à l'Institut Pasteur (Paris, France). En 2012, il a obtenu une nomination à titre de professeur adjoint à l'Institut Lady Davis de recherches médicales et au Département de génétique humaine de l'Université McGill. Il est titulaire de la chaire de recherche sur les cellules souches du muscle squelettique Marjorie et Gerald Bronfman.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Le muscle squelettique possède une remarquable capacité de régénération qui dépend des cellules souches musculaires. Néanmoins, plusieurs pathologies du muscle squelettique, y compris la famille des dystrophies musculaires et de l’atrophie musculaire associées au vieillissement et au cancer, représentent un fardeau important pour les systèmes de santé du monde entier. Le développement de thérapies régénératrices fondées sur les cellules souches pour les maladies musculaires s’appuie et continuera de s’appuyer fortement sur les connaissances relatives à la myogenèse embryonnaire et la régénérescence musculaire chez l’adulte.

Nous nous attaquons à ces défis au moyen de techniques relevant du domaine de la biologie moléculaire et de la génétique pour étudier les mécanismes moléculaires régulant l’activité des MuSC. Actuellement, nous nous concentrons sur le contrôle de la traduction des MuSC et des cellules progénitrices myogéniques. Les principaux thèmes de recherche de notre laboratoire sont les suivants :

1. Le contrôle de la traduction chez les cellules souches musculaires.Les cellules souches adultes doivent s’adapter rapidement aux signaux environnementaux pour s’activer et proliférer, et elles doivent prendre une décision entre l’autorenouvellement et la différenciation. Nous étudions les mécanismes de contrôle de la traduction comme premiers répondants régulant l’expression des gènes dans les cellules souches musculaires.

2. Les microARN régulatrices du développement musculaire. Au cours du développement embryonnaire, les cellules progénitrices pluripotentes prennent une décision cruciale pour la cellule d’entrer dans la lignée myogénique. Nous nous intéressons à la contribution des microARN dans cette décision cruciale pour la cellule. Nous manipulerons l’activité des microARN pour renforcer la décision cruciale pour la cellule musculaire de produire efficacement des cellules progénitrices myogéniques à partir de cellules souches pluripotentes.

3. De nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques pour les maladies musculaires.Par l’étude des mécanismes moléculaires qui régulent l’activité des cellules souches musculaires, nous découvrons des voies qui peuvent être ciblées. Nous nous attardons présentement à caractériser de petits composés qui ciblent ces voies pour atteindre notre objectif d’augmenter le potentiel des cellules souches musculaires à régénérer les muscles.

4. Les régulateurs génétiques de la myogenèse.Nous utilisons plusieurs stratégies pour découvrir des cofacteurs qui favorisent l’activité des facteurs de transcription dans le contexte du développement musculaire et de la maladie.

Publications récentes
 
Blanc, R.S., Vogel, G., Chen, T., Crist, C*. and Richard, S*. (2016) Prmt7 preserves satellite cell regenerative capacity. Cell Reports 14, 1528-1539.

Zismanov, V. Chichkov, V., Colangelo, V., Jamet, S., Wang, S., Syme, A., Koromilas, A.E., and Crist, C. (2016) Phosphorylation of eIF2a is a translational control mechanism regulating muscle stem cell quiescence and self-renewal. Cell Stem Cell 18, 79-90.

Crist, C.G., Montarras, D. and Buckingham, M. (2012) The muscle satellite cell is primed for myogenesis, but maintains quiescence with sequestration of Myf5 mRNA targeted by microRNA-31 in mRNP granules. Cell Stem Cell 11, 118-126.

Crist, C.G., Montarras, D., Pallafacchina, G., Rocancourt, D., Cumano, A., Conway, S.J., and Buckingham, M. (2009). Muscle stem cell behaviour is modified by microRNA-27 regulation of Pax3 expression. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 106, 13383-13387. (Featured in Cell 138, 813-814)

Le Dr Colin Crist étudie les mécanismes moléculaires régissant l'activité des cellules souches musculosquelettiques.

Il s'intéresse présentement au rôle des microARN et des granules cytoplasmique RNPm dans le maintien de l'identité tissulaire dans les cellules souches spécifiques aux tissus qui répondent aux signaux stimulant la régénération.

 
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital