Tel.: 514-340-8222 ext. 23146
email address 

Ivan Topisirovic, Ph.D., M.D.
 
Investigator, Lady Davis Institute
Assistant Professor, Department of Oncology, McGill University
 
 
Ivan Topisirovic obtained his M.D. and Ph.D. from the University of Belgrade, Serbia. He completed his post-doctoral training, first with Dr. Katherine L.B. Borden (Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York and  IRIC, Université de Montréal), then with Dr. Nahum Sonenberg (McGill University). During his post-doctoral tenure, he was studying how gene expression is regulated at the post-transcriptional level. In particular, he focused on the post-transcriptional regulatory networks centered on the eukaryotic translation initiation factor 4E (eIF4E), which is a pivotal regulator of mRNA translation and whose activity is frequently dysregulated in cancer.  In 2011, he joined the Lady Davis Institute as an independent investigator and obtained an Assistant Professor position in the Department of Oncology, McGill University.

Major Research Activities
His laboratory is  interested in studying the molecular mechanisms which underlie the role of mRNA translation in modulating growth (increase in cell volume) and proliferation (increase in cell number) of normal and  malignantly transformed cells. Rates of cell growth and proliferation are modulated by signaling pathways in response to various extracellular stimuli and intracellular cues.  The mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR) pathway is a major regulator of mRNA translation, cell growth and proliferation, and it is frequently dysregulated in human diseases such as cancer, diabetes and heart disease. The main focus of his future studies will be to determine how the effects of mTOR on mRNA translation influence cell growth and proliferation.

Changes in growth and proliferation rates are also characterized by alterations in gene expression. To achieve optimal growth and proliferation rates in a given environment, cells need to coordinate the expression of a subset of genes which need to be expressed at specific time points. He aims to elucidate post-transcriptional regulatory networks which play a role in coordinating the expression of genes which regulate cell growth and proliferation and investigate the mechanisms which lead to aberrant function of these networks in human disease. 

Recent Publications

Dowling RJ*, Topisirovic I*, Alain T, Bidinosti M, Fonseca BD, Petroulakis E, Wang X, Larsson O, Selvaraj A, Liu Y, Morrow T, Kozma SC, Thomas G and Sonenberg N. (2010) mTORC1-mediated cell proliferation, but not cell growth, is controlled by the 4E-BPs. Science 328(5982):1172-6 (*equally contributing first author).

Topisirovic I, Gutierrez GJ, Chen M, Appella E, Borden KL, Ronai ZA. (2009) Control of p53 multimerization by Ubc13 is JNK-regulated. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 106(31):1 2676-81.

Topisirovic I., Siddiqui N., Leroux Lapointe V., Trost M., Thibault P., Bangeranye C., Piñol-Roma S., Borden K.L.B. (2009) Molecular dissection of the eukaryotic initiation factor 4E (eIF4E) export competent RNP. EMBO J. 2009 28(8):1087-98.
Snapshot

Dr. Topisirovic is studying the molecular mechanisms underlying cellular functions of the mTOR pathway.

He is also interested in studying how the expression of genes which regulate cell growth and proliferation is coordinated at the post-transcriptional level.

 
 
Important Links

 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital

Tel.: 514-340-8222 poste 23146
courriel
 
Ivan Topisirovic, Ph.D., M.D.
 
Chercheur, Institut Lady Davis
Professeur adjoint, Département d'oncologie, Université McGill


Ivan Topisirovic a obtenu son diplôme de médecine et son doctorat à l'Université de Belgrade, en Serbie. Il a complété une formation postdoctorale d'abord avec la Dre Kathernine L.B. Borden (École de médecine du Mont Sinaï, a New York, et IRIC, à l'Université de Montréal), ensuite avec le Dr Nahum Sonenberg (Université McGill). Au cours de son mandat postdoctoral, il a étudié comment l'expression des gènes était régulée au niveau post-transcriptionnel. Il s'est particulièrement intéressé aux réseaux de régulation post-transcriptionnelle axés sur le facteur eucaryotique de démarrage de la traduction 4E (eIF4E ou eukaryotic translation initiation factor) qui constitue un régulateur essentiel de la traduction de l'ARNm et dont l'action est souvent déréglée en présence d'un cancer. En 2011, il s'est joint à l'Institut Lady Davis à titre de chercheur indépendant et a obtenu un poste de professeur adjoint au Département d'oncologie de l'Université McGill.
 
Principales activités de recherche
 
Son laboratoire s'intéresse à l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires sous-jacents au rôle de la traduction de l'ARNm dans la modulation de la croissance (augmentation du volume cellulaire) et de la prolifération (augmentation du nombre de cellules) des cellules normales et cancéreuses. Les taux de croissance et de prolifération cellulaires sont modulés par des voies de signalisation en réponse à différents stimuli extracellulaires et signaux intracellulaires. La cible de la rapamycine chez les mammifères (mTOR ou mammalian Target Of Rapamycin) constitue un régulateur principal dans la traduction de l'ARNm et de la croissance et de la prolifération cellulaires, et est fréquemment déréglée dans des maladies humaines telles que le cancer, le diabète et la maladie cardiaque. Ses études subséquentes viseront principalement à déterminer comment l'action du mTOR sur la traduction de l'ARNm affecte la croissance et la prolifération cellulaires.

Les changements dans les taux de croissance et de prolifération cellulaires sont aussi caractérisés par des altérations dans l'expression génique. Pour optimiser leurs taux de croissance et de prolifération cellulaires dans un milieu donné, les cellules doivent coordonner l'expression d'un sous-groupe de gènes qui doivent s'exprimer à des moments précis. Le Dr Topisirovic cherche à élucider les réseaux de régulation post-transcriptionnelle qui jouent un rôle dans la coordination de l'expression des gènes qui régulent la croissance et la prolifération cellulaires et étudie les mécanismes qui mènent à un fonctionnement anormal de ces réseaux dans les maladies humaines.

Publications récentes
 
Dowling RJ*, Topisirovic I*, Alain T, Bidinosti M, Fonseca BD, Petroulakis E, Wang X, Larsson O, Selvaraj A, Liu Y, Morrow T, Kozma SC, Thomas G and Sonenberg N. (2010) mTORC1-mediated cell proliferation, but not cell growth, is controlled by the 4E-BPs. Science 328(5982):1172-6 (*equally contributing first author).

Topisirovic I, Gutierrez GJ, Chen M, Appella E, Borden KL, Ronai ZA. (2009) Control of p53 multimerization by Ubc13 is JNK-regulated. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 106(31):1 2676-81.

Topisirovic I., Siddiqui N., Leroux Lapointe V., Trost M., Thibault P., Bangeranye C., Piñol-Roma S., Borden K.L.B. (2009) Molecular dissection of the eukaryotic initiation factor 4E (eIF4E) export competent RNP. EMBO J. 2009 28(8):1087-98.

Le Dr Topisirovic étudie les mécanismes moléculaires sous-jacents aux fonctions cellulaires deans la voie mTOR.

Il s'intéresse aussi à l'étude de la façon dont l'expression des gènes qui régulent la croissance et la prolifération cellulaires est coordonnée au niveau post-transcriptionnel.

 
 
 
 
Support research at the Lady Davis Institute - Jewish General Hospital